RSS Feed

OWFI Conference + Award!

Posted on

Heavens to murgatroyd…it’s been NOVEMBER since I last posted. And I’ve got to tell you, God has a seriously wicked sense of humor. My last entry noted that I had streamlined  the regular deadlines and then…well, then God laughed.

A friend asked me for a major favor, and I was concerned enough about the economy that  I took a “real job” teaching High School choir when the director resigned one week before the Christmas holidays. Silly me, I thought that I  could still write after school and make progress. HA!

So, the school year finishes June 5. I have two choir concerts, and a week of tech rehearsals and performance for the musical “Thoroughly Modern Millie” in the weeks ahead. It will be lovely to have my writing life back after that but I wouldn’t trade the experience for anything–the students have been wonderful. Such raw talent, youth, and energy has been inspiring, if frustrating at times.

Rest assured, it’ll all become book material at some point.

Getting back to the title of this blog, though…I “outed” myself about the teaching gig at the conference this past Friday evening. Even had the audience doing a bit of choral gymnastics despite themselves, LOL! For the past several years, I’ve put together a presentation honoring those authors pub’d during the past year with a “Famous Author” event. This year, the group named me the “Honorary Life Member” for my contributions to the organization.

Wow!

Truly, many others deserve this more. The organization has given me so much and furthered my own career that  it’s only fair to volunteer what time I can. So I’ve previously served on the board, run the contest, and last year was president and organized the conference–but this year, only ran the Famous Author event. Heck, that’s the most fun you can have  without a beverage! (or a royalty check with multiple commas).

 Anyway, I’m incredibly grateful for the honor. I would encourage anyone to volunteer to help in your various writing organizations. Trust me–you invariably get back much more than you give.

Here’s hoping it won’t be another 6 months before I’m able to post again!

amy-the-temporary-choir-teacher

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

Leave a Reply

