RSS Feed

SEX-SEX-SEX! & Kindle-ization of Course

Posted on

Now that I have your attention, let me paraphrase best-selling author William Bernhardt: “Writing a book is like having sex; both are messy but worth it in the end.”

I’m just back from William Bernhardt’s Annual Workshop, and it was AWESOME! I’m working on fiction for a change, and it’s quite a challenge. I need all the help I can get. So I took careful notes. Lisa Rector’s sessions were outstanding. I look forward to reading her forthcoming book on editing. A few tidbits that stay with me include:

“Be bold. Subtle is overrated,” she said. “Think about secondary characters—what they want, do they achieve it, and if so, is it worth what they wanted? Do they really want it at the end?”

Donald Maass pulled no punches. His inciteful comments and frank opinions punched holes in many hopeful dreams but also provided a more solid foundation for revisions. “It’s the LONGING FOR CHANGE, or the hint of something that wants to be better or human or good, that makes us want to root for the dark hero,” he said. That goes for both protagonists and their opposite. “Most antagonists do not do enough. Get your antagonist busy or busier.”

Yep, I have a LOT more work to do on my WIP!

Aprilynne Pike, #1 bestselling YA author, inspired us all with her humor, dead-on advice, and pragmatic approach to the work.

Besides the killer writing advice, there was great entertainment with a stand-up comic, a state-of-the-union (publishing) address, folk songs and more. Check out some of the pictures from the conference, as well as a short movie sample of Bill having a musical argument with a reluctant protagonist who refused to rescue a kitten.

Oh, I promised updates on the Kindle-ization! Well…Complete Kitten Care continues to sell steadily, now up to a book sold nearly every day. Will I get purr-fectly rich doing this? Not likely. But more and more folks now have access to the latest info at a fraction of the cost. I also just made it available in PDF version for those without an E-reader so y’all can paypal from my website and I’ll send it on off to you (same price).

I’ve more news, but that’s enough for now. I’ll keep y’all posted on the messy-isity progress of both the fiction WIP and the Kindle-ization.

later,

amy

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

Leave a Reply

