RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Valentines and Pet Peeves

Dena is inspired by her cat-writing partners.

Happy Valentine’s Day!  It’s “Monday Mentions” and I’m pleased to intorduce you to a very talented author, humor writer, social media maven, and terrific speaker (how’s that for a build up?), my friend Dena Harris. That’s her in the picture, and you can follow her blog and on Twitter (@Lucy_cat) . Here’s what she has to say about her furry muse: 

My muse’s name is Lucy (“Lucifer” on the days she shreds the couch), a black and white tuxedo kitty, and I owe my career to her. The first article I ever published was a humor piece about Lucy dropping cotton mice into her water dish and me trying to psychoanalyze what it meant. From there, I landed a humor column in a cat magazine which led to my first book, Lessons In Stalking,  all of which led to my current book, Who Moved My Mouse? A Self-Help Book for Cats (Who Don’t Need Any Help). I really do credit Lucy with leading me to my passion for writing.  

Here’s another pair of gorgeous furry muses, from my dog writing colleague Gail Parker–that’s Danny and Mercy, sharing some Valentine love. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

Danny & Mercy by Gail Parker

I’m sharing some wonderful cat and dog pictures later today in my  Pet Peeves Enewsletter of subscriber’s pets who just won 6 (yes, I said SIX!!!) of my books.  

Check back tomorrow, when I’ll have an update with more pictures from my friend Heike–she’s planning to go home to Cairo this Thursday, and offers some great resources for those wanting to offer a helping paw to the animal victims of the recent Egypt uprising.

NEWS FLASH! Update tomorrow also about the FIRE FIRE FIRE at my house…powerline downed by a tree sparked a major grass fire, took out the electricity and several acres on the property (that’s why this blog is delayed.)

If you’re an author who shares your life with a furry muse, please drop me an email amy @ shojai.com (no spaces) with how your pet inspires your writing life, and a picture, and I’ll add you to the blog.

Purrs & wags,

amy

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

Leave a Reply

