RSS Feed

Tuesday Tips: Doggy Growls, FB-Fans, Friends and Plug-ins

Cyrus is smiling--but teeth can also mean business.

My Red Room buddy Gina Misiroglu just sent me a note that my latest Paw Nation article has been posted–Arrrrrrrroooooo! She put me in touch with the AOL people, which is one of the great ways in which she’s bringing traffic to Red Room and getting attention for Red Room’s authors.

We want dogs to love us, but snarls, growls or (heaven forbid!) bites are dangerous and make it hard to love them back. But dogs aren’t evil and you are not a bad owner if you have a growly dog. Forty percent of dogs have growled at their owners at one time or another.

There are many kinds of aggression and, depending on the circumstances, some are normal. It’s good to understand that growly dogs believe they have a good reason to aggress, whether owners agree, but it still should be dealt with. Sudden changes in your dog’s behavior should be checked by a veterinarian, because aggression can be prompted by pain or health issues. Aggression can be complicated and require professional help, but here’s how to recognize five common types and learn how to keep the peace. 

Does social media make you GROWL? I’ve been doing it for a couple of years now, mostly because I was told that I should. Started out with MySpace and a blog over at another site, and just couldn’t get excited about it. Finally signed up for Facebook—and that took off! I’ve got a personal page with over 3,000 friends now, and as true FB-ers know, there’s an upward limit of 5,000 friends for that. I might reach the limit and have to turn folks away (hey, it could happen!).

So I’ve been advised to create a “facebook fan” page. Irk…that’s sort of off-putting to me, don’t know about you. Feels funny to ask folks to “like” my fan page, sort of oooky in a way. But there ya go, it’s supposedly THE way to do social media these days, and then integrate it with Twitter and Scribed and LinkedIn and and and…yowza!

Anyway, I’ll still hang out at both sites and share lots of free cat and dog (and writing!) content, as well as links to the radio and tv appearances. Here’s the Tuesday Tip, found this simply by playing around with the new fan page. You can insert Facebook Plugins on your existing website, blog, articles. (I’m tech-challenged, I  can’t seem to get the code to work in THIS blog but it is now on my website news page.)

Now then, please, pretty please with sugar on top, would you LIKE me? *s* Just click the button. Oh, and share with friends, too.

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

Leave a Reply

