RSS Feed

Tuesday Tips: Cat Attacks!

Posted on
Picture copr. “Janet”

Ebony is hissed off about the Chiweenie dog.

Isn’t that just the most gorgeous smoke-color kitty? Makes you want to snuggle her close, and protect that fragile luv-muffin from all harm. I know that my Magical-dawg would dearly love to get a really good SNIFF of Ebony, and probably do his best to nose poke and find the hidden squeaker inside.

Anyway, when I got the “Ask Amy” question about Ebony, I just had to share the story. Ebony attacks Janet’s new “Chiweenie” dog Darby adopted six weeks ago, an eight-pound Chihuahua/Dachshund. “Ebony goes at her and won’t stop. She has hurt her twice, to the point the new dog has been on meds twice in six weeks. I am on egg shells all the time,” says Janet. She’s also currently babysitting her sister’s dog, which she’s done many times in the past. “I’m worried, because right now Ebony is on a mission!”  Janet provided lots more details, and you can read my tips for stopping the attacks in this article.  

Perisha wants her way and will use teeth to get it! Picture copr. "Perisha"

For some reason, there are lots of upset kitty questions lately! See that gorgeous white cat? She’s been giving her owner fits. Nope, she’s not chasing dogs, and not even fighting other cats. Her owner Angy writes, “I need some serious help with my 2½ year old deaf cat, Perisha. When she does not get her way, or when it’s time for my partner or I to leave the house for work, one of us will be attacked by her. Or if I am combing her-which she loves-she will suddenly start attacking our calf, or jump up toward neck or upper arms, giving deep bites, bruises and scratches. In this article you’ll find the rest of the story and tips to deal with Perisha’s c’attitude.

Pet behavior questions answered!

Do your dogs or cats give you fits? How do you handle hissed off pets? Do you have more problems with cat-to-cat, dog-to-dog, or bi-petual relationships? DO tell! Why is it that some fuzz-buckets roll with what comes and never bat a whisker, while others get their tails in a twist over — well, next to nothing? (Hint: the PETiQuette book has answers!)

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions–and to stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe this blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

2 responses »

  1. I had to come take a peek at Bling, Bitches and Blood! Great job, Amy…and this site came up fifth on my Google search. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

