RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Mutts, Ferals & Chew On THIS!

Posted on

Hold still!

Thanks muchly for all the wonderful wags and purrs about the new “blog home”–I hope y’all will consider subscribing and sharing with other pet-centric and writer-types. I’ve a whole pack of shout-outs to share today.
Could you be my new family?
Saturday I had the hard job of schmoozing (techie term) with a slew of puppies, courtesy of Lynette George. She also happens to be my PETiQuette newspaper column editor–and runs a local rescue organization. As a result, I’ve now got close to 200 puppy-licious photos for future blogs and other writer-icity projects. That’s Lynette (above) with the land-shark pups guestimated to be a Rottie-cross. Next Saturday, April 2 at 2 pm she’s hosting a “Pet Contest” at the Sherman Petco ($5 entry, benefiting local rescue), for the largest, smallest, furriest, best dressed, best trick, looks most like owner, best behaved, oldest, most colorful pet. I’m donating a couple of books as prizes–and I get to be a judge. So sucking up can officially begin. (Guess folks would frown on me entering my own fur-kids, eh?).

Louise with a special kitty friend.

Do you have feral cats in your neck of the woods? I guarantee that you do, whether you’ve seen them or not! I’m not talking stray cats, or “community cats” that collect kibble by visiting the neighborhood like kitty trick or treaters. You might call them yowling nuisances when they potty in your garden or drive indoor cats crazy—but they’re simply trying to survive. Louise Holton, founder and president of Alley Cat Rescue (ACR), says TNR (trap-neuter-return) can solve a host of feral cat problems in a humane way. My latest Pet Peeves show, Feral Cats – The TNR Solution explains how you can help by partnering with the ACR-sponsored “Free Feral Cat Spay Day” on April 27, 2011. 

Are you already using TNR in your community? Me-wow! How’s that working for you? Please share!

The puppy pictures I took on Saturday featured “mixed breed” pets. Betcha a bunch of y’all reading this blog have a “mutt dog” (or a mutt cat) you love.  Even if they don’t have papers (no…I’m not talking about the piddle pads), they are of course just as worthy, smart, loving, and stunning as any purebred or pedigreed pet. My Seren-kitty will attest to that!

And now, in celebration of mixed breed dogs, my colleague author Cheryl Smith has been named the National Mixed Breed Columnist at Examiner.com.

Cheryl and her "furry muses."

Cheryl says, “The examiner column is a national column on mixed breeds. So far it’s been mainly AKC related because of the upcoming agility championship and the first mixed breeds competing. But it will cover all the other dog sport organizations that welcome mixes, as well as mixed breed topics and issues. For example, I looked at canine DNA tests already, and next week hope to look at how many mixes typically go into a mix, and what are actually the correct terms to use when talking about non-purebred dogs.”

Cheryl and her roomate share their home with mixed breeds. “The apricot dog is my dog, Joe Cool, who I’ve only had for a little more than two months, and the white dog is Taiwan Teddy, Judy’s dog. They are a handful. Joe was originally owned by a drug addict who lived in her car.”

How did you find your pet? Did you rescue a mutt or get on a waiting list for a purebred? Did Kitty-kins show up on the back porch? What’s your “gotcha day” story?

I love hearing from you. Do you have a “furry muse” who inspires your writing? Please let me know and I’ll try to get you a Monday Mention. Share comments and questions–and to stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

4 responses »

  1. Lynette George

    It was so much fun having you Saturday, Amy. (Sorry about the shoe strong loss. As soon as the puppies get summer jobs, they can pay for you a new pair!) Of course, you just had to use that pic of me, didn’t you? LOL People will never believe that I actually do clean up and look a little better than the shape I’m in on puppy adoption day!

    See you Saturday!
    Lynette

    Reply
    • Aw Lynette, you’re beautiful! Windy day, puppy face licks, there’s a gorgeous-icity in all of that ya know. And you remember that “ass-ets” puppy pix you took of me? Well…let’s just say it’s not ready for prime time, either. *s* See you Saturday, indeed!

      Reply
  2. Thanks for the mention, Amy. The mixed breed column needs more subscribers.
    And though I don’t write about cats there, I do “own” my own feral cat colony. A jet black nearly hairless female showed up and had her litter in our hay barn, so we caught all the kittens over the time and with the help of a local cat rescue, had them spayed and neutered. We cut a cat hole in our lawnmower shed, and that’s where we feed them, so the raccoons can’t share in the food. They are all named for old movie stars, so We have Astaire, Cary, Bogart, Stewart, Katie, Marlena Grace, and the mom, Greta. They are all stub tailed like their mom. There’s one grey tiger, all the rest are tuxedo to a greater or lesser degree. They’ve been here four years now. The second litter that graced our little ranch went to a rescue org to be placed – we don’t need any more mouths to feed!

    Reply
    • Cheryl, I included the link to your Mixed Breed Dogs site on the blog roll. Lots of folks will want to check that out.

      Love the theme kitty names! Bet your feral family keeps down the varmint population, too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

