RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Thievery & Furry Angels

Posted on

 .

The weekend kept me hopping, again, with a Pet Contest on Saturday I got to judge. Hey, there’s perks to this job and I luv getting all the happy wags and purrs. That’s “Lainy” up above–who won a “owner look alike contest” with the male owner named Lane. Fun stuff! The event was to benefit my friend and colleague Lynette George’s new “Kitty House” sanctuary–and interestingly, mostly dogs showed up to give ’em a wag and woof to help. Major wags & purrs!

Pet people are…how can I put this…we’re “different.” So are writers. And when you combine the two, you get spontaneous combustion, and a passion that could light up Texas and beyond. I’m eternally in awe of the community of writers and pet lovers who come together to celebrate all-things-furry and writing successes. We also support one another when the @#$%^&U! wheels fall off. Don’t hiss off pet writers–we travel in packs, and show our teeth and claws.

Copr. Melanie Snowhite. http://www.melaniesnowhite.com

That’s my colleague Terry Albert with shelties Tux, Lily and Bonnie.  Terry Albert’s blog recently got hijacked. Purloined. Lifted. STOLEN! The scum-sucking bottom feeder (who probably doesn’t even LIKE pets!) cut-and-pasted multiple posts and smack-dabbed ’em onto his own blog. Pretty funny when you think about it, because here’s Terry writing in first-person about her pets, her painting, her world-‘o-doggy-stuff, and this guy’s doing a “Sybil” multiple voices and viewpoints. Major howls & hisses!

Terry has two books coming out next year–Animal Planet: Labrador Retrievers,  and Animal Planet: Boxers, and I betcha this guy would try to take credit for those, too if he could. Read the REAL Terry on her own blogs and sites, with her own original art (the un-hijacked variety). In case you’re wondering, I ASKED and was given permission to post the pictures here. Click-Treat, GOOD-Amy. *s*

Terry’s painting is of “Mac,” a yellow lab. She writes, “I have about five careers, all dog related. I’m lucky- I get to combine my profession with my passion. I write, paint pet portraits, work as a pet sitter, and design websites– many for pet related businesses, like pet sitters, doggie daycares and trainers. My spare time (ha ha ha) is spent with my horses!” Learn more about Terry Albert at her website, and her pet sitters blog.

Terry isn’t alone in having her online work stolen. Another colleague, Mary Anne Miller, had an entire WEBSITE copied–text, pictures, pages, advertising and all. For those of you wondering what’s the big deal, here’s the scoop. Just because it’s posted on the Internet does not mean it’s free-for-the-pickin’s. And nope–it’s not flattering or “good advertising” to steal somebody else’s creativity and pass it off as your own.

Many bloggers and online writers–including Terry and Mary Ann–want to get good information out about our animal companions or other work, and welcome “sharing” of content. That is, sample a smidgeon of a post you like, maybe a first paragraph. Think of this like a sample at the deli, where the owner gets hissed off if you gnosh the entire wheel of cheese. Just offer a taste, and then say something like, “To read the rest of this great post, click this link…” and provide it.  I’ll give you an example:

Mary Anne with special friend.

“My name is Mary Anne. I am a 24-hour human can-opener and  Chief Petting Officer. I don’t do drapes, wear black for any reason and the running joke at the local post office is that I send all my letters “Hair Mail.” For the last thirty-plus years, I have shared my life with a very patient and loving husband and a crew of high-risk strays and at-risk bottle babies. . .” To learn more about Mary Anne, check out her outstanding website here.

Mary Anne comes to mind because she writes an incredibly touching and passionate feral cat behavior blog.  Recently she organized a fund raiser for medical care of Shell, a special kitty-girl, who ultimately lost her fight to live. Yet Shell touched cat lovers around the world in ways that changed their lives. A furry angel sent with a higher purr-pose? You be the judge.

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions–and to stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways! REMINDER–the books COMPLETE KITTEN CARE and PET CARE IN THE NEW CENTURY: CUTTING-EDGE MEDICINE are available for a limited time for only $2.99 (Kindle price) to help out during kitten season.

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

3 responses »

  1. Thank you for referencing Mary Anne. I have captured and brought home a feral before. It’s taken years, he lived under my bathroom sink for three months, but he’s at the point now where he’s comfortable with us. Picking him up is still out of the question though. I have three strays outside my door right now I’m looking to help. I will be going through our local humane society for help with neutering and shots. I guess they’ll end up being ours because in NC over 90% of felines turned in to animal shelters are put to sleep. It’s horrible what happens to these animals.

    Reply
  2. Hey Angela, Mary Anne is a human angel for cats and esp the rescues/ferals. She’s a terrific resource. You can also find help at Alley Cat Allies and Alley Cat Rescue (blog on the latter here with help for spay/neutering ferals http://amyshojai.com/2011/03/28/monday-mentions-mutts-ferals-chew-on-this/)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

