RSS Feed

Thoughty Thursday: What’s YOUR Bliss?

Posted on
“Bliss is a ball . . .”

I’ve had a lot of jobs over the years. Some were glorious adventures while others hit big numbers on the suck-ometer. Cashier, actress, optometric associate, legal assistant, TV news reporter/anchor, vet tech, bank compliance officer, spokesperson—shoveling crappiocca (and dodging what was lobbed my direction) came with every position.

Oh, I wouldn’t trade the experiences for anything, despite the aromatic negatives. In fact, I’d go back in a heartbeat to employee gigs with a very select few despite son-of-an-ass-terick bosses because I loved the work that much.

Some folks-in-charge aren't nearly as classy as this lil' fellow.

A N’Orleans street musician playing for pennies was asked why he spent hours playing for so little. The gentleman said, “Hey man, it’s what I do.” He’d found his bliss.

I meet lots of dissatisfied folks. They feel trapped or prevented in some way from finding their personal bliss. Maybe they want to adopt a pet but have allergies, or the $%^&*(!#% apartment won’t allow a furry companion. Or they’re faced with house payments, braces for the kid’s teeth, college tuition, replacing the hail-damaged roof or (fill in the blank) bills that enslave them to a hated 9-to-5 and have no time to write their novel.

Have you let fear of failure or embarrassment, hurt pride or anger over other folk’s jerk-icity keep you from doing what you love? Guilty as charged.

I’m guilty of using the “time” excuse—“when I finish this next deadline, project, whatever, then I’ll have time to  . . .”  My mom tells me if it’s important enough, I’ll find the time.

Grubby paws can mean you're digging for gold.

We all make excuses. It’s the human thing to do. But if something or someone tried to keep me from my fur-kids, from writing my heart, from shiny objects or my music, my God-gifted bliss—I’d by-heaven find a way over, through, or around. And shame on me for letting anyone try to take that away!

There’s a rush, a natural “right-ness” and physical Snoopy-Dance-‘O-Joy feeling in doing what is meant to be. It never gets old, but there’s no real destination, either. It’s a moving target that makes you reeeeeach just a bit beyond comfort level time and again.

I’m ready to stretch a bit. How ‘bout you? What is your bliss? What’s kept you from reaching out for that brass ring?

 

To stay up to date on all the latest cat-egorical or dog-matic content, subscribe to this blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

4 responses »

  1. What I dream to do is to work at a no-kill sanctuary as a behaviorist, but I don’t know how to do it. Do I even need to go back to school to get a masters degree, or can I do this as an apprentice? I don’t know who to ask or how to do it. Since you do this SO well, I thought you might have some insights, Amy. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

    Reply
    • Hi Leah, What an awesome goal! It IS do-able. Yes, you’d have to do coursework and there are apprentice-ships. There are several organizations that explain what’s required. Of course veterinary behaviorists require a DVM or VMD degree. But there are also PhD behaviorists (http://animalbehaviorsociety.org/), and there are certified dog/cat/parrot/horse consultants (http://www.IAABC.org). I’m IAABC-certified for cats and dogs. There’s also dog trainer certification through Association of Pet Dog Trainers (http://www.apdt.com). And a number of large shelter/animal welfare organizations offer training programs and mentorship arrangements. My college Kim Thornton just authored a fantastic book “Careers With Dogs” (BowTie Press) that lists many education programs available. I hope something here helps. You can begin your dream just by getting involved with local animal welfare groups, too.

      Reply
  2. I’ve been living my bliss but health stuff has been a big bummer. BTW I coach people on animal careers and my beta group finishes this month!

    I find a lot of people don’t have the follow through to follow their bliss–but when you have passion, as you outline, you’ll find a way to do it!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Monday Mentions: Evil vs Bliss « Amy Shojai's Blog

Leave a Reply

