RSS Feed

Thoughty Thursday: Tick-Tock

Posted on

This week has flashed by. Today at noon, I leave for the Oklahoma Writers Conference, which means I’ve cut the work week by two days. Not the work load, just the amount of time to get ‘er done.

Seven blogs, a newspaper column, Paw Nation article, two Ask Amy videos, a TV segment and . . . oh yeah, a meeting with my co-author for some revisions on our play. And a SUPER-SECRET-HUSH-HUSH-PUPPY PROJECT that launches tomorrow evening (shhhh, it’s puppy-licious!). In between it’s twittering, FB-ing, reading emails, and answering list members, friends and colleagues.

I’m panting–just like the Magical-Dawg after a Frisbee marathon!

Family and friends sometimes suggest I should take some time off. Relax. Stop and smell the roses. And those who read this blog know that there are plenty of roses available to sniff. The thing is, there just aren’t enough hours and I have soooooooooo many more projects I want to do. And time is not infinite, at least not for humans–or our pets.

My colleague Jean Fogle died this week. She was my age. She loved life, loved dogs, and was a brilliant writer and even more brilliant photographer. She left behind a husband and two sons, a loving family and countless colleagues and friends who openly admired her courage, joy, and spirit. She wasn’t given enough time. Jean will be missed.

No pictures today. Nothing I post could possibly compare to the images Jean produced. So I’ll leave you with a link to Jean’s website where you can enjoy her gardens, her dogs, her spirit.

Go hug your dogs, your cats, your kids and loved ones for me. Plenty of time for me to take a break–later. I’ve got too much writer-icity left in me, so the break will come much, much later. Clock’s ticking . . . .

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions–and to stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

2 responses »

  1. Amy,
    (I thought I commented already but I don’t see it, so I’ll do it again.)

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. Jean sounds like she was a VERY special lady.

    I hope you get to have a little fun in Oklahoma…

    Reply
    • Thanks Jenny. I’m here–and they’re painting the railing on the balcony in my room. Waiting…waiting…want to go eat lunch, waiting…*s*

      Reply

Leave a Reply

