RSS Feed

Furry Friday: PUPPIES GUIDE!

Posted on

.

I’m so excited to announce my news–I’m the new Puppies Guide for puppies.About.com!  Yee-haw!

Most of y’all know that for the past year I’ve been the behavior contributor over at cats.About.com working with the outstanding Franny Syufy and am delighted to still be part of the “furry family” with puppies. I’ll also be working with Jenna Stregowski, RVT  dogs.About.com Dogs Guide–she has terrific canine content, and Janet Tobiassen Crosby, DVM the Veterinary Medicine Guide. Pretty awesome team!

Danny & Mercy by Gail Parker

Danny & Mercy prove fur-kids CAN get along! (copr. Gail Parker)

The site is dedicated to all-things-puppies. Over the past several weeks I’ve been writing puppy care articles for beginners, for savvy dog owners, and for folks who just enjoy cute puppy pictures. You’ll find vet care information, training and behavior tips, and even some fun stuff sure to make your virtual tails wag. *vbg*

I hope you’ll visit–and send me suggestions for more articles. If I’ve been a bit harried over the past month it’s because I wrote about 65 new articles (and BOY are my typin’ fingers tired!) for the site. And I learned more about HTML coding and SEO than I ever imagined!

The site is a work-in-progress, only one day old (it went “live” yesterday, so it’s a newborn *s*) so there’s lots of room for new topics. Don’t forget to check out the pages where YOU can share stories and pictures about your special puppies, too! You can subscribe to a nifty weekly newsletter, too. For all  my dog savvy colleagues, stay tuned cuz I have plans for some “guest writer” spots as well as book reviews down the road.

Today I’m at the Oklahoma Writers Conference  and last evening had dinner with Steve and Liz Berry, Bill Bernhardt, Linda Apple (awesome conference chair), my shepherd and co-writer Frank Steele, writer buds Carol and Lori Shenold  and networked with many inspiring writers. I’m sure there’ll be lots to share in the blog in the coming days and weeks.

I’m speaking about media training for authors and DIY Ebooks. And yes, next week the blog will feature a weekly series on Kindle–how to do it, where to market, and more–with some great helpful links and don’t-make-this-mistake-I-made tips.

Gotta get ready for the day–busy busy busy! I may not get the chance to reply right away to comments. But I’ll get back to you, never fear–I love hearing from everyone! Lots of fun and exciting “furry news” always seems to be happening around here.

And to celebrate the launch of puppies.About.com, I will give away an autographed copy of PETiQuette: Solving Behavior Problems In Your Multipet Household by drawing the name from comments posted on any of this past week’s blog. *s* Don’t be shy–share what kinds of puppy (or kitty) info you’re most interested in, or writing tips–whatever floats your furry boat.

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions–and to stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

4 responses »

  1. That’s tail-wagging grr-eat news, Amy. You’re on super speed to help people and pets. Glad your sound advice will help people with newly adopted puppies get off on the right paw.

    Reply
  2. It’s official – you are my Pet Guru! Congrats on the big news and have a wonderful time at the OKcon!

    Reply
  3. *S* Thanks Tiffany–I’m thrilled and wagging wagging wagging!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

