RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: About Pets & Heroes

Posted on

Is your dog a hero?

I get a slew of press releases each week about cat events, dog products, writing blogs, and outstanding websites. Check in each week for a recap the best, most fun, weird-and-wonderful and really anything that strikes my furry fancy.

Is your dog a hero? The AKC Humane Fund Awards for Canine Excellence (ACE) celebrates doggy heroes in several categories:  Companion, Law Enforcement, Search and Rescue, Therapy, and Service.  You can nominate your own furry pooch or one you know by June 1st to be considered for an ACE Award. The winners’ names will be engraved on the ACE plaque on permanent display at the AKC Library in New York City, and weach winner receives $1000, an engraved silver medallion, and an all-expenses-paid trip for the dog and owner to the AKC/Eukanuba National Championship in December 2011. Dogs with honorable mention status receive engraved bronze medallions.

Dog kissing soldier . . .

Patriot Paws I met writer Meg Reid at the recent OWFI writers conference, and I’m delighted she sent me a link to her Twisted Sisters blog (doncha love that title?!). Patriot Paws is a wonderful group dedicated to training service dogs for veterans. as in the above picture. Check it out!  

My colleague Susan McCullough writes the outstanding Northern Virginia Dog Blog and has a killer post today on Getting A Leg Up  –doggy leg lifting, that is.

Most of y’all know that I’m now the Puppies Guide for Puppies.About.com –and diligently posting new free articles on all-things-puppy (SQUEEE! Cute Alert!). But did you know about the other fan-furry-tastic parts of the “pet group” over at About.com?

Cat folks can’t go wrong with the terrific info over at cats.About.com with Cats Guide Franny Syufy. For the past year I’ve been her partner in cat-crime so there’s some kitty behavior articles from me. The the big-cat share of the site comes directly from the talented paws of Franny. After all, she’s been writing kitty content for the site for more than a decade.

My spanking-new puppies site content will often include links back to the great info for grown-up canines at dogs.About.com from Dogs Guide Jenna Stregowski, RVT.  I’ll also link  back to care content found at the excellent  Veterinary Medicine Guide Janet Tobiassen Crosby, DVM

As a kid, I shared my life with several hamsters, mice, snakes, turtles and loved visiting my grandma’s farm to schmooze with horses, chickens, pigs and more. Today lots of folks enjoy the companionship of interesting pets. You’ll find some great info from Exotic Pets Guide Adrienne Kruzer, RVT.

Or maybe you have a companion bird–at one time I shared my life with a lil’ green chicken (aka Spectacle Amazon Parrot). In fact, the story of her rescue and rehap was the first article I ever sold to be published. I wish that I’d had the help then from Pet Birds Guide Alyson Burgess.

So do you have a hero dog? A hero cat? Horse, gerbil, parrot, snake? How about a hero HUMAN who helps where needed? Please share how people and pets have been heroic and touched your life!

Being a hero is no joke. But the ability to make you laugh is a talent not to be wagged at…so you won’t want to miss this fun video from my colleague, writer Janice Biniok. Enjoy!

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions–and to stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

3 responses »

  1. Thank you, Amy!!
    Patriot PAWS is awesome!

    Reply
  2. Hi Amy-

    Thanks for the mention. Lots of great spotlights here. Thank you.

    Janet

    Reply

Leave a Reply

