RSS Feed

Feline Friday: Ask Amy, Countertop Cruisers & Choosing Battles

Posted on
where sleeping is not allowed

Forbidden territory . . .

Cats become pests with their determination to stay above it all. They cruise kitchen countertops, lounge atop doors and leap to refrigerator tops to ambush treats. The urge to be the top cat seems a universal cat vice. By understanding why cats scale the heights, cat owners can provide legal outlets that keep both their cats happy and out of the butter dish. Here’s the straight kitty-truth on the latest Paw Nation article.

The Ask Amy video, below, has LOTS of bling–and more info about cats and countertops. What else have I missed? Any great tips y’all can share with readers? What has worked with you and what hasn’t? And…have any of y’all “given up” the battle like one reader, and simply wipe down all counters and tables before you prepare food and eat?

12-26 seren & red on tree 2

Too much to do? Take a nap!

Choosing battles strikes close to home these days for me. Life pulls in so many directions that the clock ticks away the hours before half of my to-do list gets finished. Or even started. The furry writing projects howl out to me–puppies.About.com, Paw Nation, PETiQuette newspaper column and Pet Peeves Newsletter (I really need to get that sent this weekend!) and now Huffington Post; social networking stuff like this blog, Twitter and Facebook; then there’s the KXII TV spots, Pet Peeves radio and the Ask Amy videos–I’m getting lots of questions and topic requests (FUN!); and my performance stuff–cello, piano, singing–is brain candy for my emotional health.

The thriller fiction WIP looks like a lost, neglected puppy that wags hopefully from the bottom of the stack. *whimper*

cat on railing

Balancing to-do stuff can be a challenge.

Don’t get me started on the overgrown roses outside, cobwebs and dust bunnies in the corners of my house, and stack-‘o-filing in the office. That’s the one good thing about aging eyes–everything takes on a soft focus. I toss dog treats under the bed now and then and send Magical-Dawg squirming under to “pseudo-dust” the hard to reach places, and Seren hits the high spots.

Which brings me back to countertop cruising kitties. See, there ARE advantages to choosing your battles! How do you manage your to-do list? Please reassure me I’m not an awful purr-son for letting some things slide! With the long weekend, my get-er-done garden and home-care stuff moves to the front of the list. Right after I post this blog. Oh, and write my newspaper column. And … oh, it’s hopeless!

What are your Memorial Day plans?

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions–and to stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

8 responses »

  1. My weekend is busy with writing too but I took yesterday off to attempt a yard sale…LOL I finally packed up and now it looks like a rain storm is moving in so I am grabbing the fresh ginger scones I made and am heading over to a neighbors for coffee.

    I’ve never had problems with cats on the counter but they were never allowed to be on the counters and got a lot of stimulation and occupation.

    Personally, I am into prevention!

    Reply
  2. Ha ha! Reading about how busy everyone else is makes me feel sooooo much better. I spent today up a ladder, doing house renovations in the sunshine. I blogged my heart out yesterday, and my brain is wrung out – I have a stack of books to read so I have more words to use next week….

    Reply
  3. Hi Amy. I haven’t had cats for many years (allergies) but when I did, I made it a habit to keep anything they might find appealing off of the counter and up in the cupboard. However, we did have a catnip junkie, Jocko, who opened the cabinet once and pulled out a gallon-sized ziplock baggie of catnip that the neighbor had given us from her garden. When we walked into the kitchen that morning, he had ripped the bag open right there on the counter and was wallowing in it, kitty-stoned. It was so funny we couldn’t possibly get mad. Thanks for your post.

    Reply
    • Hi Piper, that’s hilarious! I’ve got a gallon-size baggy of catnip in my freezer for the same reason. Seren-kitty can open the kitchen cabinets. *s* Nothing like having a drunk kitty under the influences…now THAT’S deniability!

      Reply
  4. Janet (Short) Bradburn

    Dear Amy, Enjoyed your blog about cats on the counters. I was married many years to a dear man who absolutely wouldn’t tolerate that. From a book titled YOU CAN TRAIN YOUR CAT, I learned some tricks, some of which were mentioned here. We gave the cat a fur-covered window sill alternative–one on each end of the house. That worked about 95% of the time. When counters proved too tempting, we set “booby traps” from disposable aluminum pie pans delicately propped up with dowel rods, designed to make a startling racket at the slightest provocation. This trains the cat to avoid the counter even when we were not home to patrol. It works!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

