RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: THRILLERFEST!

Posted on

Finally back from a whirlwind conference–Thrillerfest was wonderful as always. I’ll have some short videos later, too, but wanted to post the pictures (they’re out of order, sorry!) as soon as possible. Some of the pictures didn’t turn out. For instance, I got to hang out with my publisher Bob Mayer and editor Jenn Talty, but didn’t find the pictures that I know we took *sigh* I also neglected to get a photo of the panel that I was on with Allison Brennan, Joshua Corin, Sandra Brannan Patricia Gussin, Gar Anthony Haywood, and Karen Dionne.

Since this is Monday Mentions–that’s pretty much all you’ll find today, enjoy the pictures and stay tuned for some quick excerpts from some of the panels and interviews.

Amy & Tom Sawyer

Amy & Tom Sawyer–at the Saturday afternoon book signing. Tom’s a thriller author, playright, and screenwriter. He’s been a speaker at the OWFI conference several times.
Toni McGee Causey

Toni McGee Causey, author of the Bobbie Faye trilogy, stepped in as substitute panel master when JT Ellison lost her voice.

Amy & John Gilstrap

Amy & John Gilstrap, author of 9 thrillers and 5 screenplays--I've interviewed him on my Pet Peeves radio show in the past (yep, he's a dog lover!)

Amy & Taylor Stevens

Amy & Taylor Stevens--debut author Taylor and I sat across the aisle on the plane. Her book The Informationist sold out at the bookstore, so I'll have to get it later!

Amy & Michael Palmer

Amy & Michael Palmer--one of my all-time fav medical thriller authors. Also met debut author Daniel Palmer, his son and can't wait to read his DELIRIOUS novel which--includes a DOG!

Amy & Allison Brennan

Amy & Allison Brennan, a killer thriller author and totally awesome lady! Second year we were on the same panel--oh, and she's also a pet lover. Didn't I say she's awesome?

Amy & Jon Land

Amy & Jon Land--one of the movers-and-shakers of ITW who (of course) writes incredible thrillers.

Amy & Shane Gericke

Amy and my buddy Shane Gericke--a nominee this year for best thriller, great author! Check out his work at http://www.shanegericke.com

The Art of Pacing panel

James Rollins, Carla Buckley, Jeffery Deaver, Joseph Finder, Jamie Freveletti, Andrew Peterson, John Sanford, in THE ART OF PACING panel.

James Rollins & Amy

James Rollins, another of my fav authors with his latest book. Oh, and yes--I did wear my Bitch pin, as you see here.

Ken Follett & Douglas Preston

Ken Follett & Douglas Preston

RL Stine and James Rollins

RL Stine and James Rollins

Difference w- Male/Female Authors

How Male/Female Authors Approach the Page with Allison Brennan, Anna Destefano, Shane Gericke, Rick Molina, Erica Spindler

JT Ellison

JT Ellison--lost her voice but introduced the panel "Male/Female" approach to the page. Then on Saturday night, JT won the THRILLER Award for her papberack orginal "The Cold Room"--yay JT!

Debut Authors

Debut Authors, Class of 2011

John Lescroart & Gayle Lynds

John Lescroart & Gayle Lynds

How to lighten moment

Panel on "How to Include Humor in Thrillers" with Shane Gericke, David Bell, Toni McGee Causey, Harley Jane Kozak, Robert Liparulo, Amanda Kyle Williams

Scalpel Please

Find the Heart of Your Story with DP Lyle as Panelmaster, Brandt Dodson, Jonathan Hayes, Vladimir Lange, Michael Palmer, Stefanie Pintoff

Shane Gericke & Paula Lanier

Shane Gericke and Paula Lanier,two of my "thriller-buddies" -- Paula is a medical writer, too.

Jon Land & Paula Lanier

Paula Lanier & Jon Land--it's become an annual tradition to get this picture taken!

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions–and to stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

 

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

30 responses »

  1. GREAT photos, Amy. Thanks for posting. Especially happy to see photos of Tom Sawyer and Shane Gericke, two online friends. Tom is a one of the most special people I’ve ever *met* and Shane is a dear, dear person.
    Pat Browning

    Reply
    • Tom mentioned you and said to send you special greetings! We had lunch together on Saturday. Yes, Tom and Shane are two very special “thriller” friends.

      Reply
  2. Amy… LOVE your peacock feather blouse and matching necklace! Thriller-level bling for sure! Purrrrrs… wac

    Reply
    • Thanks Wendy–when I saw the blouse, just couldn’t resist! Oh, I wore YOUR gorgeous necklace creation on Friday and got lots of compliments (many cat lovers at Thrillerfest). But I forgot to bring out the camera much until the next day.

      Reply
  3. I am so jealous, Amy! First, you look fabOoolous in all of these photos. Second, I love how you sport the drink in hand and the Bitch pin too! Maybe next year I can join you…

    Reply
    • *vbg* Well I have a reputation to keep the sparkle-icity coming. Would love to get more of the fabOoolous gang to Thrillerfest next year, wouldn’t that be awesome?

      Reply
    • Me too! Me too! A BITCH pin AND her picture with The James and his Devil Colony. After the rip-roaring party we just had, I think that photo needs to go on #myWANA. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Envious, envious, envious. Color me green, even if blue is my favorite color. Ish.

    Reply
  5. Love the pictures, Amy! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  6. Author Kristen Lamb

    I am so jealous yet so happy for you. I just hope you, me and Piper can take NY by storm in 2012.

    Reply
  7. Wonderful pics, Amy. You looked like you were having a lovely time. I recognized a lot of the names. It must have been so exciting!

    Reply
    • Hey Jeanne–yes, just about everyone on the “thriller” genre was there. Amazing, I ran around like THE biggest “fan-girl” and…the most wonderful thing is, they’re all wonderfully accessible and supportive people. Sure, the sessions were great, but the interactions between times and after hours were even better–heavens, a “master class” with Doug Clegg in the bar? Drinks with John Gilstrap? Lunch with Tom Sawyer? Dinner with Bob Mayer? Wowzer!

      Reply
  8. Love seeing all the photos of you looking so happy, Amy! Either you had great drugs or that back of yours got better….

    Reply
    • LOL Jenny! No drugs other than Advil, an ice pack and adrenaline. The back is MUCH better, if I don’t sit still for too long. The airplane ride home killed me though.

      Reply
  9. Looks like you had a wonderful time. Thanks for sharing the pics, I thoroughly enjoyed them.

    Reply
  10. Great pix, Amy! Wish I’d been there to see everyone in person — love living vicariously through you! (And yes, I’m a dog-lover. Isn’t everyone?)

    Reply
  11. Pingback: Monday Mentions: Plague, Spam & Writers « Amy Shojai's Blog

  12. Amy, I’m so glad you posted these photos! I hated missing Thrillerfest this year, and it was such a treat to “be there” through your pictures!
    Blessings,

    Vicki

    Reply
  13. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Scary-Funny Interview with R.L. Stine « Amy Shojai's Blog

  14. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Karin Slaughter Thrilling Tips & WordPress-icity « Amy Shojai's Blog

  15. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Ken Follett Writer-icity Tips « Amy Shojai's Blog

  16. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: John Sandford’s Pacing « Amy Shojai's Blog

  17. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Deaver & Peterson on Pacing « Amy Shojai's Blog

  18. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Reverse, Reveal, Surprise « Amy Shojai's Blog

  19. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Racing Pacing with Jamie Frevelletti « Amy Shojai's Blog

  20. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Carla Buckley, Pacing Ebb & Flow « Amy Shojai's Blog

Leave a Reply

