RSS Feed

Feline Friday: Got Herb? Kitty Catnip Delights

Posted on
.

Honest, I didn't inhale...well maybe a little..."

I have no doubt that catnip prompted the Cheshire Cat’s grin. My cat Seren wears the same expression when she indulges. But why do cats find this nondescript herb so attractive? Is it a kitty aphrodisiac, a harmless pleasure or something more sinister?

Nepeta cataria, or catnip, is a strong-scented mint that contains a volatile oil that’s easily released into the air. Biting or rolling on the plant crushes the leaves and releases the oil so cats can get a good sniff. It doesn’t take much. Cats can detect catnip oil in the air at saturations as low as one part per billion. Seren-kitty (in the picture above) can ferret out fresh herb through several layers of shopping bags. I never knew she liked the stuff until some really potent catnip came home with me from the Cat Writers Conference and she went wild.

Do your cats react to catnip? What about other substances? I’ve known some cats that show the same reaction to honeysuckle slices–pieces of the wood–or to other mints, and even a few who rolled and yowled for olives! Here’s more about how catnip works like LSD detailed in my latest Paw Nation article about catnip. And here’s a repeat of an Ask Amy that fits right in with the them.

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions–and to stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

6 responses »

  1. My cats know a crinkly package from anywhere in the house, but really go nuts when they get the fresh stuff.

    Reply
  2. Ha! just the sound alerts them? Fun. That reminds me of the Snoopy (Peanuts) cartoon where Charlie Brown eats a marshmallow and Snoopy suddenly appears…

    Reply
  3. Our outdoor feral, Domino self-medicates from his apothecary aka my herb garden. He’s recuperating from a deep abscess and even though he’s on antibiotics and a probiotic, catnip is his drug of choice.

    Reply
  4. Hi Amy,
    Yrsa couldn’t care less for catnip, unfortunately, but my former cat liked it.
    A cat I had long before them loved olives! Didn’t eat them, but got crazy just like a catnip addict do 🙂

    Reply
  5. Self medicating with catnip, LOL! Love that. And I’ve heard of cats that react to olives that way, great fun.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Feline Friday: Why Does My Cat Eat Grass? « Amy Shojai's Blog

Leave a Reply

