RSS Feed

Tuesday Tips: Scary-Funny Interview with R.L. Stine

Posted on

For the past nine Tuesdays this space focussed on DIY Kindle-ization. I’ll return to the topic from time to time and point y’all at shiny objects that catch my eye. For example, David Gaughran covers Ebooks in his daily blog including some pretty nifty how-to advice that’s particularly helpful to international authors. He’s also Epub’d a how-to book.

I just received an inquiry from an Italian publisher about foreign language rights for the Aging Cat book, yee-haw! That never would have happened without bringing the backlist er, uhm, back. *s*

My next Kindle-ization project won’t happen until a massive revision/update of the award winning Purina Encyclopedia of Cat Care–which also will require a title change since I’m no longer affiliated with the company and that license expired. So what should I call the book? Love to have suggestions for a new title! It’s still an A-to-Z encyclopedia but expands the care/health sections with first aid, aging specific issues, behavior, and WOW-cutting edge. Hey, I have to put some THRILLING stuff in there! But I’ll remove the short breed descriptions and pictures because others do that way better than I can. Let me know and I’ll refer you to colleague’s books that do a fantastic job with kitty breeds.

I’m hard at work editing my current fiction WIP–oh yes, I make up crappiocca, too! The story includes SURPRISE! dogs and cats and vets, oh my! No flying monkeys. Yet. A few dead bodies. Those who frequent this blog know I’m a fan of thrillers and recently attended Thrillerfest. You can check out a boatload of Thrillerfest pictures here.

Even though my kids have four feet and fur, I’m familiar with R.L. Stine’s successful GOOSEBUMPS series. These days, YA fiction is hotter than Texas in July. (We had rain this morning that sizzled when it hit the ground.) So when the schedule said the amazing James Rollins (fan-girl moment!) would interview Mr. Stine, I had to be there.

Who knew R.L. Stine could have a second career in stand-up! Or that he was not an overnight success. His publishing path gives established and yet-to-be-published writers hope, and offers some great insight. This video is only a small taste, of course, and you can get the full deal recording (and those of the other panels) of CDs, MP3s and DVDs of Thrillerfest here.

How did you start out as a writer? For the successful established authors, how long did it take? What words of wisdom can you add to help with the teeth-gnashing angst of pursuing a writerly dream? As for my small success as a pet writer, I started out scraping crap off the bottom of kennels, and these days I just write about it. Exactly the same, only different.

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? I’m nearly ready to record a bunch of new ones, so be sure to get your requests in the comments. Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

14 responses »

  1. That is a great video, Amy. I saw your thread on Kindle Boards and had to come over to check it out. My sons and I were fortunate enough to see R.L. Stine when he came to a bookstore in our neighborhood. He was wonderful. It was around Halloween, very appropriate, right? Stine had the kids create a spooky story with him, and it was pure magic.

    Reply
    • Hey Karen, thanks for visiting! Yes, Mr Stine is so approachable, so nice. Last year he signed my ARC of FEAR, a collection of 13 stories from Thrillerfest authors edited by him.

      Reply
  2. Very interesting video…it’s given me some inspiration. I really enjoyed reading through your blog posts and will revisit.

    Reply
  3. You are a wealth of information and insight, Amy! I tend to take my dog for granted and with my packed day, I don’t give him as much attention as he deserves. When I get home today, I’ll make it a point to make him a priority!

    Reply
  4. I’m loving the interview with R.L. Stine. I needed a laugh this morning. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Karin Slaughter Thrilling Tips & WordPress-icity « Amy Shojai's Blog

  6. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Ken Follett Writer-icity Tips « Amy Shojai's Blog

  7. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: John Sandford’s Pacing « Amy Shojai's Blog

  8. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Deaver & Peterson on Pacing « Amy Shojai's Blog

  9. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Reverse, Reveal, Surprise « Amy Shojai's Blog

  10. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Carla Buckley, Pacing Ebb & Flow « Amy Shojai's Blog

  11. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Safety for Doggy Table Moochers « Amy Shojai's Blog

Leave a Reply

