RSS Feed

Tuesday Tips: Karin Slaughter Thrilling Tips & WordPress-icity

Posted on
Debut Authors

Debut Thriller Authors, Class of 2011. (I hate them...)

Those who frequent this blog already know about my 9-part Tuesday Tips series on DIY Kindle-ization. I’ll return to the topic from time to time and point y’all at shiny objects that catch my eye. Last week, though, I shared a video of the Thrillerfest interview with master author R.L. Stine, and today I’ve got more goodies in store from that event.  You can check out a boatload of Thrillerfest pictures here.

Although I’ve had 23 nonfiction pet books published–yes, I am a VERY lucky dawg!–that doesn’t stop me from green-icity envy attacks. See all those folks in that picture? They’re DEBUT THRILLER AUTHORS. That’s what I want to be when I grow up.

Well actually I want more than that as they do, and go beyond that first fiction thrill-ride (write). So the speaker at the Thrillerfest Debut Author’s Breakfast this past July offered some fantastic advice and tips for aspiring, debut, and established fiction authors. Even for old-dawg nonfiction authors. This video is only a small taste, of course, and you can get the full deal recording (and those of the other panels) of CDs, MP3s and DVDs of Thrillerfest here.

WORD PRESS FOR DUMMIES (Hey, that’s ME!)

I’m also a fan of Kristen Lamb’s blog and online workshops that teach folks how to blog effectively (hey there, folks, you can tell me…is it working?). But how do you get all the bells and whistles to work on WordPress? One of the current students, amazing writer/blogger Carrie Spencer posted some GREAT techie tips on the Romance University blog. Follow along on her series:

WordPress for Non-Techies Part 1

WordPress for Non-Techies Part Deux

WordPress for Non-Techies Part 3

WordPress for Non-Techies Part 4

WordPress for Non-Techies Part 5

WordPress for Non-Techies, The Finale

Are you an aspiring writer, a debut author, or an established professional? How did you start out as a writer? How do you define “success”–is it that first book, the fifth, increased sales, Mom’s approval? What words of wisdom can you add to help with the teeth-gnashing angst of pursuing a writerly dream?

I started out scraping crap off the bottom of dog and cat kennels, and then sold a few of my “how to” vet tech tabletop talks and personal experience stories to the pet press. These days, I still channel my furry muses.

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? I’m nearly ready to record a bunch of new ones, so be sure to get your requests in the comments. Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

14 responses »

  1. Love that pic of debut thriller writers. I write romantic suspense thrillers, and I’m getting close to querying for the first time. I hope to one day be included in a group like that. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Amy, I’m still jealous that you went to Thrillerfest. That is so cool….

    GREAT list of wordpress links in one post – thank you!

    Reply
    • Tiffany, wish I could take credit for the list–I’m still struggling with WordPress and was delighted to find and share this. And hoping I can scratch up enough $ to return to Thrillerfest next year. It’s an awesome event.

      Reply
    • I’m jealous too, Tiff, and I don’t even write thrillers. 🙂

      Our Bling-y friend was keeping some rarified company!

      Reply
  3. Amy,

    I love your Tuesday Tips series so much! You’re awesome at completely different techie things than me and I learn a lot. Thanks…:-)

    Reply
  4. Pingback: G+ Circles–Good Idea for Writers or High School Revisited? « Kristen Lamb's Blog

  5. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Ken Follett Writer-icity Tips « Amy Shojai's Blog

  6. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: John Sandford’s Pacing « Amy Shojai's Blog

  7. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Deaver & Peterson on Pacing « Amy Shojai's Blog

  8. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Reverse, Reveal, Surprise « Amy Shojai's Blog

  9. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Racing Pacing with Jamie Frevelletti « Amy Shojai's Blog

  10. Pingback: Tuesday Tips: Carla Buckley, Pacing Ebb & Flow « Amy Shojai's Blog

Leave a Reply

