RSS Feed

Woof Wednesday: Ask Amy & Poop-Eating Poochies

Posted on
Magic9.5wks, face

At 9-1/2 weeks, Magical-Dawg perfected the grab-poop-and-run technique. Don't let the innocent look fool you!

Do your dogs eat poop? C’mon, confession is good for the soul, you can spill the …er, uhm, BEANS. You’re among friends! I’ll go first.

“My Magical-Dawg indulges in poop-munching.”

Well, he used to, anyway. Thank heaven’s he outgrew the nasty habit or I’d own stock in doggy breath mint products.  Just why do they do it, and how can you curb the poop-icity? Today’s brand new Ask Amy video offers some tips for dogs with Shih Tzu breath. And I’ve posted an article with 10 tips for stopping puppy poop eating.

Seems like people who live with and love pets must deal with a lot of crap. What are other irksome issues you’ve struggled to solve with your dogs? What did you do? Please share tips, or post questions in the comments and I’ll feature in a future Ask Amy.

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? I’m nearly ready to record a bunch of new ones, so be sure to get your requests in the comments. Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

6 responses »

  1. OMG, Amy, he was such a cute puppy! My Hoshi girl made life pretty easy but there was one thing I absolutely had to train her out of.

    I’m sure you know an Akita’s natural “big love” greeting is to rise up on their hind legs and put their paws on your shoulders. It didn’t bug me when it was just me…when she developed “big love” for others, it scared them sometimes.

    I trained her to run and get her toy instead. She was still getting interaction and approval, but you could get through the door without 90 pounds of dog on you.

    Reply
    • Hey Jenny,
      Yes, he was made cute–so I wouldn’t KILL him! LOL! He went through the Terrible Nines (nine month old pupz are awful sometimes) but turned out a real winner.

      Oh yes, the Akita’s “hug” greeting. Training an alternative behavior is ideal! I usually recommend teaching a sit, but fetching a toy is a terrific idea (scribbling a note). I’ve got another article on why puppies jump up here, that offers some of those training tips:
      http://puppies.about.com/b/2011/08/01/how-to-stop-puppy-jumping-up.htm

      Reply
  2. I swear I have a poop-eating dog, but I can never catch her in the act. I’m a firm believer that you shouldn’t scold an animal unless you’ve actually caught them doing wrong, otherwise they may not know why you’re mad at them. So, if she does do it, she gets away with it….and I am pretty sure it makes her super gassy.

    Reply
    • Hmnnn, Tiffany, I’d not heard of poop-eating that caused gas. You might check the food content, though. Dog foods that include soy often prompt gassy-icity. *s*

      And BRAVO for waiting to catch her in the act. If you take her out to do her dooody-duty on leash you can monitor what she’s doing, and pick it up before she can munch.

      Reply
  3. One of my mini doxie’s used to chow down on Sammy’s poop when she was younger. It was so gross. She gave it up on her own, thankfully.

    Reply
    • LOL Stacy! The turning point for Magic to stop was ignoring him. He’d turned it into a game and it drove my husband nuts trying to get him to drop it. Once I convinced my husband to try to ignore the keep-away behavior, Magic didn’t think it was such fun anymore.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

