RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Dogs, Cats, Babies and Treats

Posted on

Monday Mentions is the mash-up-day of all the neato-torpedo links and blogs and writer-icity crappiocca collected over the past week. Today we’re celebrating lots of dogs, cats, babies and sweet treats. Some of the PEOPLE SCHTUFF at the bottom may appeal to writers for plot twists and the like. ALERT–I had so much writer-icty info that it’s been bumped to tomorrow’s Tuesday Tips blog so stay tuned, you won’t want to miss that.

Please don’t be shy about sending me your own links or suggestions for others to highlight. I love doing a SNOOPY-DANCE-’O-JOY! in celebration of all the savvy writers and animal advocates doing the work of the angels–and to a few angels as well.

Defending the Defenseless: A Guide to Protecting and Advocating for Pets a new book by my colleague Allie Phillips, outlines how you can do more to help companion animals. I’ve not yet had the pleasure of reading this book but it sounds wonderful, as it covers the people and organizations who are taking extraordinary steps to help animals. The book can show you how to get involved, from the simplest of tasks to more extensive involvement. Allie writes, “If we all just take one small step to help pets, we will launch the tipping point to end cruelty and homelessness.” Amen to that!

BABY SCHTUFF

Many of y’all know Pam Johnson Bennett as a cat behavior expert and author–the QUEEN of cat wisdom! But did you know she’s also mom to two-legged kid? She conspired with another screamingly funny mom to create COOKIES FOR DINNER because they say mothers don’t need another “how to” book on parenting. What they need is to know that they’re not the only ones who stand on the supermarket checkout line and share potty training horror stories with total strangers. (Lordy, sounds like me talking about the puppy poop-athon keep-away game, urk!). Amazon share this about the authors and book:

“Pam and Kae are two mothers who bravely (or insanely) fess up about the roller-coaster ride of motherhood. Kae went into labor four months after her husband left to move in with his girlfriend and also the precise day her house was tented for ticks… yes, ticks! Pam is a worrying germophobe who, at the ripe old age of 47 entered into the world of diapers and all things poop… You’ll also discover when it’s appropriate to have a conversation with Guatemalan insects and what it’s like going to bed with normal-sized breasts the night before giving birth and then waking up with the equivalent of a dairy farm on your chest.”

RISKY BABY BUSINESS from Jenny Hansen is a new blog (Saturdays) for anyone who has ever had a less-than-routine pregnancy–offered with compassion and not a little humor. I love all of Jenny’s blogs but this one is particularly helpful for parents-to-be.

SWEET DOGGY & KITTY SCHTUFF

Kawai Cat Sweets


KITTY TREATS FOR PEOPLE, YUM!  And no, I’m not talking about munching kitty toes–these are feline theme only.

MORE KITTY TREATS–BLING!--helping ACR cats via Wendy Christensen cat jewelry, and that’s MY kind of treat! Here’s the necklace that I have…and no you can’t have it!

DOGTOPIA PRIMPS PETS IN THE PINK for breast cancer awareness. Dogs across the country will get primped and pampered in October, all in the name of breast cancer awareness and research. Dogtopia, a full-service dog day care, spa and boutique with locations throughout the U.S. is ‘fighting for the cure’ in their second annual “Paws for Pink” campaign.

DOGS HELP FIGHT BULLYING  It makes sense. Having a dog nearby cools a kid’s stress, which more than likely fans the flames of bully behavior. So if a bully breed can chill the chillun, I’m all for it. Great program! And you don’t even need a REAL dog to make it work (although hands-on-petting certainly is more fun for everyone involved).

HARRY POTTER’S DOG NEEDS NEW HOME, say it ain’t so!

FERAL CAT COLONY SUCCESS by feline-fantastic blogger Sally Bahner, and another neato torpedo story about FERALS WIN BIG AT CAT SHOW.

STAINED GLASS ANIMAL ART CONTEST, ooooooooooooooh, shiny! Submit any animal design in art glass, ceramics, mosaics or jewelry (Wendy, are you listening?). Some of y’all know in my spare time I make stained glass windows and lampshades (yes, I bleed for my art). This contest is way tempting.

KITTY CAME BACK after a flood–whew! Rough experience but happy ending from Darlene Jone’s blog

HOME EUTHANASIA FOR PETS, a kinder, gentler final gift of love?

PEOPLE SCHTUFF

BIRTH CONTROL PILLS ALTER MEMORY….for what? Read the article.

WORLD RABIES DAY in BALI by Sophia Yin, DVM

DEPRESSED? GET CAFFEINATED! Coffee may keep depression at bay (yee-haw, vindication!)

DEPRESSION PREDICTS DEMENTIA?   So I’m increasing the caffeination quotient, how about you?

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

13 responses »

  1. Love the uberlicious lineup. Lots to go peruse and read this morning. Thanks so much Amy! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Thanks muchly! That was fun to put together.

    Reply
  3. Great set of links, Amy. Will be checking them out:)

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the mention, Amy!

    Reply
  5. Amy, you’re so sweet to mention Cookies for Dinner. Thank you!

    Reply
  6. OK, now I’ve got to go read “Cookies for Dinner!” Plus, must scope link that says coffee helps fight depression (YAY!)…

    Thanks for the shout-out. You know I generally mix it up over at More Cowbell but the Saturday posts are personal. Not only is some of it excerpts from the High-risk pregnancy memoir, but the comments from women are amazing. This is the first time this series has been “mashed up” (and you know a girl NEVER forgets her first time)!

    Thanks, Amy!!!

    Reply
    • “I don’ know nuthin’ about birthin’ no babies…” unless they gotz fur and a tail. *s* So happy to offer shout outs to them what do.

      @Jenny, just started the Naked Editor’s course, looks like it’ll be a blast and great info too.

      Reply
  7. Great list Amy! I especially liked the feral cat success stories. 🙂

    Reply
  8. I had to laugh at the mention of kitty toes. We always tell Simba at night that if she doesn’t stop playing roadbloack to Daddy’s side of the bed, we’ll make kitty toe stew, because she always sticks her feet out at him. 😛

    And it’s a shame about Padfoot, but I am at least glad the guy was good enough to recognize he wasn’t giving them as much attention as they needed anymore. It IS rather a high-demand job, and with all the attention he’ll get now that he’s been retired the shelter can, I’m sure, afford to be good and picky and find him an awesome home. With any luck, he can be a bit of a spokeperson (spokesdog?) for Big Black Dogs everywhere.

    Oh wow that art contest looks cool… too bad I’m HORRIBLE when it comes to 3D art, unless it’s an abstract sort of craft (like my dreamcatchers – no carving or sculpting necessary lol).

    I kind of found the birth control article interesting. Though, oddly enough, I never noticed a change in my memory when I started on the birth control. But then, I kinda figure the health issues I was having beforehand kind of overshadowed any memory change I might have gone through. LOL Now, I have ALWAYS had issues with remembering specifics of conversations. I remember the gist of it… but then… I don’t think in language anyway so I’m eternally trying to translate myself. So if I interpreted the words wrong to start with it always gets jumbled. So maybe that has more to do with why nothing changed… If details aren’t linguistic I’m more likely to remember them (except in the case of faces… I have trouble with faces until I know someone long enough – I recognize people by their hair until then so if you change your hair not long after we’ve met, expect me to forget who the heck you are).

    Hooray for caffeine. Makes me feel less bad about picking up my coffee addiction again (though I wish I had more time to make MY coffee in the morning… my Kona blend is MUCH nicer than the swill they have at work lol)

    You need to fix your last link though… it’s trying to log me in as you.

    If depression can predict dementia, I guess I’d better watch out… depression, anxiety, OCD… LOL Hoo boy. I’m in for it, eh?

    Reply
  9. Hey Amy :-)…I can’t wait to read the book ‘Defend the defenseless’….:-)…great post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

