RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Pet Books, Webinars & Howl-oween

Monday Mentions is the mash-up-day of all the neato-torpedo links and blogs and writer-icity crappiocca collected over the past week. Today we’re celebrating mostly pet stuff, and (ahem) some Amy-schtuff as this is a busy time with lots of appearances.

Please don’t be shy about sending me your own links or suggestions for others to highlight. I love doing a SNOOPY-DANCE-’O-JOY! in celebration of all the savvy writers and animal advocates doing the work of the angels–and to a few angels as well.

HALLOWEEN FUN

TWO-FACED CAT right in time for Halloween–and yes, this is a real cat and still living, wow!

HALLOWEEN PET SAFETY for all of the pets of your life.

DOGGY HALLOWEEN COSTUMES–how to get him to wear it? Magical-Dawg hasn’t any interest in dress-up And I’m afraid to ask the cat, she knows where I sleep. But if you’re in the mood to get all ghostly-photo-op-icity with your pets, the latest article in the link could be a help.

AMY APPEARANCES

Most of y’all know that in addition to this blog, I also write books. You can find links to the various titles on the right side of the screen. And I’ll be making some *virtual* appearances to lecture on the topics covered in a couple of these books, if anyone is interested in learning more. You can even ask me specific questions and I’ll do my best to answer in a semi-intelligent way. Hey, I’m an actor, I can channel my inner intellectual (even if I cain’t spell it without, you know, spell check).

For the rest of the month I’m the guest author on the DogRead Cyber Book Club and discussing my Pet Care In the New Century cutting edge medicine book for the first couple of weeks. We’re covering bloat, back problems and paralysis, stem cell therapies and more to come–all those WOW-medical treatments now available to our cats and dogs.

The last half of the month we switch to dog and cat behavior and discuss the PETiQuette book. So if you have pet behavior concerns about multiple dogs, multiple cats, or putting the two together–or just like to talk about all the weird and wonderful things cats and dogs do, the discussion promises to be great fun.  The DogRead Email discussion list is FREE!

INTRODUCING A NEW FAMILY MEMBER

On Monday October 24 you can dial up a live Webinar at Danish-Swedish Farm Dogs USA for a fun hour discussing pet introductions–cats to cats, dogs to dogs, cats-dogs to each other, pets to babies/kids–the whole shebang. The event is pretty dang reasonable, and is sponsored by a wonderful savvy dog group that donates part of the proceeds to a doggy foundation (you get to choose) such as the Orthopedic Foundation for Animals, the Rabies Challenge Fund, or the Canine Companions for Independence. Behaviorists and trainers can earn continuing education units. Dang, guess that means I’ll have to say something halfway intellectual again. Hmnn. Hope to *see* you there.

Here are a few more links that caught my — OOOOH SHINY! (ahem, sorry)… If you’ve never before had the delightful experience of watching a Simon’s Cat video, you’re in for a treat! Hint: Any writer who lives with a cat will relate.

RECREATION CENTER FOR SPECIAL NEEDS FOLKS, very cool video and program.

ASPCA FUNNIEST DOG VIDEO CONTEST in conjunction with October’s Adopt A Shelter Dog Month

DOG LAW RESOURCES an interesting blog for dog writers–or dog lovers.


I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

6 responses »

  1. That poor kitty! I hope it’s got a loving home – I’m sure it does if it’s still around. I would love to get one of the dogs a costume, but the Golden would be scared and the doxies would tear it up, lol.

    Reply
    • Yes, I think this kitty is very loved–wasn’t expected to survive and has had a great life after all!

      Later today I’ll post a new article on costuming pets for Halloween…without costumes. *s*

      Reply
  2. OMG I LOVE Simon’s Cat.

    Can’t think of anything intelligent to say today so I’ll leave it at that. LOL

    Reply
    • Hey, that never stops me, LOL!

      Reply
      • Only does me because it’s a bit difficult to try and type amorphous thoughts. Don’t have the energy to translate myself tonight I guess.

        I think the closest would be something along the lines of “ooh cool two-faced kitty!” followed by random thoughts/images about various two-faced and two-headed critters I’ve seen photos of over the years.

        Reply
  3. Pingback: Blog Treasures 10-15 « Gene Lempp's Blog

Leave a Reply

