RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Read Till Your Eyes Bleed & Blogging Superstars

I won the VERSATILE BLOG AWARD, how kewl is that, from the delightfully wicked Shellie Sakai (note–watch out for the spider!). I’ve never won a blog award before, and am particularly taken with the Snidely Whiplash-ian character badge. Thank you Shellie! Like me, she’s near the end of a major writing project and just a wee bit off her–AAAAACK!–(ahem) S’cuse me, I thought Shellie’s spider came along with Snidely for the ride.

Anyway, there be rules to accepting the award, as follows:

  • Thank and link the person who nominated me
  • Tell you seven random facts about myself
  • Pass this award on to 15 blogging friends
  • Contact and congratulate the awarded bloggers

That works out nicely since this is my weekly Monday Mentions blog. So here goes.

  1. I have a twin brother. We are not identical
  2. I am 12 years old. Forever. So there.
  3. I never intended to be a writer
  4. I spent 3 months in Haiti–yes, on purpose
  5. I can play piano and cello. If forced.
  6. I can sing in 6 languages: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Latin. I understand two of ’em.
  7. I can curse in Farsi.
.

The Maurice Stamp of Dragon-icity Approval

15 OUTSTANDING BLOGS YOU WANNA READ

Now for the list of winners, in no particular order–and consider this “double duty” for the mash up.

Jenny Hansen’s Blog–Stop & Sniff the Earlobes hey, you can’t make this schtuff up!

Sally Bahner’s Exclusively Cats–The Problem Cat-Child you know, the one you can’t help lovin’ even though (fill in the blank with crappiocca)

Piper Bayard–On Life, Belly Dancing, and Apocalyptic Annihilation and the funniest lady with an AK47 I’ve ever virtually met

Angela Peart–Writer, Painter, Dreamer and one of my fav Sweet Tweets always willing to help out newbies

P.H.C. Marchesi’s The Rift–Moving Past Bad Reviews when you’d rather scream, throw spam, and act like a rabid squirrel (or is that just me?)

Joy Held’s Writers’ Wellness–Creative Ways to Stay Positive when you’d rather scream, throw spam, and…wait, is there an echo?

Victoria Strauss Writer Beware–KILL PLAGIARISM! with your positive pen-up-manship.

Kristen Lamb Sells the Salesman let’s make a deal has never had it so good.

Lorie Huston, DVM–Using StumbleUpon to increase your blogging presence

Janiss Garza’s SparkleCat–National Feral Cat Day all things kitty and sparkly, yes!

FIP Symposium Transcript from WINN Feline Foundation, blogged by pet guy extraordinaire Steve Dale for all the latest on feline infectious peritonitis

Patricia Sand’s Blog–Canadian Thanksgiving and I just learned she’s got a fiction WIP with a DOG character!

Gene Lemmp’s Designing From the Bones–Life’s A Stage,  using archeology, mythology and the artifacts of human history to find and design stories.

Ingrid King’s The Conscious Cat for all-things-feline

Natalie Hartford’s Life Out Loud be yourself, because everyone else is taken

.

READ till your eyes bleed...Trust me (bwaa-hahaha)

MORE MASH-UP MADNESS CUZ I JESS CAIN’T STOP!

Most Popular Blog In Class–and how they did it.

Self Publishing Options–Workshop by E-mavens Jen Talty & Bob Mayer

Space Invaders & Periods no, not THAT kind–even guy writers have this period problem.

Momma Says it’s Wrong–Giving It Away some strategies that can help writers

Listeria Outbreak 2nd Largest In History that is, so far . . .

Kid Bullies Often Become Violent Adults well duh.

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

19 responses »

  1. a) What a great mash-up! Many of these are my faves, but some I don’t know. *wheeeeeee!* Gonna come back on Wed and get my reading on. 🙂

    b) You speak Farsi? Even to curse…I’m impressed! I LOVE your 7 things!!

    Reply
  2. Thank you for the honor! LOVE the list – lots to go check out. You are tooooo fahhhbulous!! MUAH!!
    Love your 7 things – soooo interesting!! :-)))

    Reply
  3. Great list, Amy. Thanks for the link love 🙂

    Reply
  4. Congrats on the blog award, and thanks for the list. Definitely some good blogs to check out!

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the award, Amy. It’s an honor to be one of your chosen blogs!

    BTW: We have something in common. I can play piano and cello too…if forced, just like you. LOL

    Reply
    • Wow Lorie–kewl beans! We could play a duet sometime (I’ll do continuo unless the piano part is waaaay easy *s*) My church keeps “forcing” me onto keyboards as the backup pianist but I’m much more comfortable with singing. Easier to carry that instrument around, too.

      Reply
  6. Congrats on your award, Amy. Well-deserved! Thanks for posting this great list. I’m a fan of Gene, Piper and Kristen…eager to check out your suggestions.

    Hmm…an off-topic question for you, being the animal-pro and versatile blogger you are. 😉 My dog is allergic to chicken. Does this make her allergic, or likely allergic, to duck as well??

    Thanks again. Have a fabulous rest of the week!

    Reply
    • Thanks for visiting the blog, August! Sorry your dog’s allergic to chicken. It’s unlikely she’d also be allergic to duck. To develop an allergy, the dog has to eat that specific protein for some time to be “sensitized” to it and duck is so expensive it’s not a common pet food ingredient.

      It IS often used in foods designed for dogs that are allergic to the more common ingredients…like chicken. *s* Hope that helps!

      Reply
  7. OMG, thank you, Amy! You’re sooooo sweet 🙂 I love blog awards. Great mash-up too: I’m going to check at least some of the links out. Hugs.

    Reply
  8. Congrats, Amy. You deserve it. I’m gonna be up all night reading those blogs.

    Reply
  9. Congrats to you and thanks for passing on the award Amy! Loved your 7 V E R Y interesting random facts. We’ll be eagerly awaiting your multilingual YouTube video!

    Reply
  10. Thanks for the mention, Amy! BTW, my human can curse in Spanish, which is the only way she is fluent in that particular language… and it helped her on a job once! She was apprentice editor on a feature film about cholos in a gang and there was a lot of ad libbing in the background. When they were editing it for TV, she was the only one who knew which Spanish words needed to be cut!

    Reply
    • Hi Sparkle, thanks for visiting! That’s a hilarious story about your human and the “language.” I’ve no doubt the kitties could give those cholos a run for their money hurling cat curses (only when the need arises, of course!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

