RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Severed Heads, Writing Fines & Star Trek Cats

What every kitty wants in her Catmas stocking...

Monday Mentions is the mash-up-day of all the neato-torpedo links and blogs and writer-icity crappiocca collected over the past week. My little cat Seren(dipity) slipped this picture under my pillow as a heavy handed…I mean, pawed, hint. I’m sure all the fur-kids have their own personal wish list. I think the Magical-Dawg has something stinky in mind.

As for me, I’m climbing aboard a plane and traveling to visit my parents and siblings in Northern Indiana, yay! It’s been way too long since I’ve seen everyone. That means, though, that I must meet my deadlines earlier rather than later. The blogs–well, I have plans to get them done in advance but who knows if that’ll happen? Santa’s Elves may have their own plans.

PET SCHTUFF

Help With Vet Bills Yes, there are organizations that help fund pet care. They rely on donations–wouldn’t it be a great holiday gift to be a Good Samaritan and fund helping someone’s needy pet? *s*

Dog People vs Cat People some interesting differences revealed in this survey.

Vegan Cat Food? Oh no! Check out this post from my colleague JaneA Kelley.

Demon Dawg–I wouldn’t want to be a vet on THIS critter! Gene Lempp once more offers great plot idea starters in his Designing From the Bones blog post.

3-D Doggy Anatomy, this is wild and awesome technology! For those writing about canine issues, not to be missed. And fun for anyone.

WRITING SCHTUFF

Conflict In Novels an awesome post from Bob Mayer

Using Track Changes from Jenny Hansen, priceless tips for editing

Jan Morrill’s Blog with some great writerly links in her mashup

Do’s & Don’ts About Email Marketing from the always awesome Lorie Huston

SEO Mistakes are you committing any of these?

Bloggers Get No Respect–or Protection! This blogger was fined $2.5 MILLION, don’t let it happen to you.

10 Rules of Writing–Best Checklist EVER for novelists posted by Heather Webb with kind permission from Janis Hubschman

KDP Select Program–read the fine print, from Writer Beware, and more about it from Kait Nolan and yet another from David Gaughran.

Left Coast Crime Convention  Left Coast Crime mystery convention will be in Sacramento, CA March 2013. Prices go up at the end of this year, so register before the deadline for the best deal. Author John Lescroart is our Guest of Honor, and James Rollins will also be in attendance, along
with some other great authors.

WEIRD-ASS-TERICK SCHTUFF

Myths About Introverts Are you an extrovert, an introvert or–well, how is YOUR brain wired?

Olympic Pole Dancing ain’t for sissies or introverts…wait, maybe it is! Hilarious post and videos from Piper Bayard

#AskAmy Sweet Tweets

Folks who “follow” me on Twitter @amyshojai and @About_Puppies are the most awesome Sweet Tweets around–they love #cats and #dogs and #pets, many #amwriting.  Just follow and include the #AskAmy in your tweets if’n you’re interested in pithy links to articles, books, blogs, experts, fictioning and sparkle-icity!

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

14 responses »

  1. Fantastic mashup, Amy… Checked out Myths About Introverts–really cleared things some up in my introspective brain. 😉

    Reply
  2. Great mashup of articles, Amy. Thanks so much for including my blog. I’m honored. I especially liked the Trek Kitties video. Clever (and cute!) way to get attention and donations for cat adoptions 🙂

    Reply
  3. Wonderful line-up Amy! I can’t believe that poor blogger got him by that law suit. Yikes! Love the Star Trek Kitties. LOL!!! I’m off to check out the other links! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Nothing like a little Olympic pole dancing to liven up my lunch hour!! I love your Monday Mentions. You always give me like 10 things I’ve never seen before. And how freaking hilarious are the Trekkie Kitties??

    Thanks for the linky love, Amy!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Are You Protected Against Lawsuits as a Blogger?

  6. Thanks for the mash up Amy! I hadn’t seen that article about the blogger getting fined–wow!! Crazy.
    Hope you have a great visit with your family!

    Reply
  7. I’m new to your site, but great list! Your sense of humor cracks me up..Thanks for linking to me. 🙂 Enjoy your vacation in Indiana!

    Reply
  8. Oh geez I thought Ellen was smarter than that. >.< Well, there's some respect for the lass gone down a peg.

    As for Dog vs Cat people… what about those of us who are "anything with fur, feathers, fins, scales or 4 legs" people? (Though oddly I share more traits with their cat group… while I currently only own cats I grew up more attached to our dog when I was younger.)

    I LOVE those 3D anatomy sites. Artist's best friend. 🙂

    As for the blogger lawsuit, man, I'd not only have gotten a lawyer, but pushed it up to appeal. "Freedom of the press" does not mean "only those affiliated with a news corporation" – a blog is, in essence, a private news outlet. Granted in this case it was sort of fuzzy either way due to the refusal to offer up a source, but at the same time, couldn't they have taken a heavier look at the company to verify? Because I can EASILY see the company taking retaliatory action against the inside source – whether or not the information reported is protected under labor laws that make it illegal for an employer to retaliate for reporting certain things that go on at a workplace.

    I love how most of the 10 Rules involve character development – my favorite part of writing! If the character isn't going anywhere, I can't stand it and I throw the character away. Then again, I tend to get bored if my characters don't develop minds of their own. If I'm gonna have 'em with me through some big spiel, they HAVE to have their own direction.

    That introvert list is all over the internet lately.

    Reply
  9. Oh, also: http://procatinator.com/?cat=42

    Thus ends all your remaining free time. 😛

    Reply
  10. That is one furrociously awesome mashup, Amy! Thanks for the link love 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

