RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Teach Writing, Brushing Pet Teeth & Dog Show Fun!

Monday Mentions is the mash-up-day of all the neato-torpedo links and videos, pet schtuff and bling and writer-icity crappiocca collected over the past week. I’m sure you’ll find something to bring a smile, a puzzled look, or a “who’d-a-thunk-it?” Enjoy!

Here’s a reason to celebrate, though. My good friend Priscilla Maltbie has a new book out! If you have children or just enjoy a lovely story with glorious illustrations, check out BAMBINO AND MR. TWAIN (yep, it’s true, Mark Twain/Samuel Clements loved cats!).  “Grieving the death of his wife, America’s favorite author and humorist shuts himself up in his Fifth Avenue house and abandons his writing. Only his daughter’s cantankerous cat, Bambino, seems to understand Samuel Clemens and his moods. When the feisty cat disappears, Sam is determined to find him, and along the way, he also finds the will to live again.” Congrats Priscilla! You can find the book here.

Technology has it ‘in’ for me lately. Last week our TV went kerflooey (that’s a techie word, meaning, the dang thing quit!). I punched every button the furshluggener remote and nothing happened. This was truly angst-elevating because my hubby cannot live without the TV. It–must–be–on, never mind that he’s snoozing, his unconscious hand stays clenched around that remote like a mongoose on a snake. (aside: can a hand be unconscious? never mind…)

Then the phone went kerflooey. That’s right, my landline office number went out probably sometime Friday afternoon. So much of my work is done via email that I didn’t notice until Sunday night when my husband was aggravated upon his return home that I’d not answered my cell phone or the house line despite multiple calls. Heck, I turned off the cell because I was HOME! But sure enough, no dial tone. The fine folks at Verizon have me scheduled for a fix-the-phone on February 8. THAT’S RIGHT, ELEVEN FRICKIN’ DAYS FROM NOW! Ahem. They dang well better pro-rate the bill.

Maybe they techie fairies had pity because about that same time we discovered the phone was AWOL, the right TV remote button got pushed and the television resurrected. Whew. I’d already prepped for reasons why a flat screen tv does not look good poised in front of cherry wood cabinetry or mounted over the fireplace. *shudder*

Perhaps I’m a bit hissy because we’re moving to the RIALTO tonight for KURVES rehearsal–and I’ve nearly lost my voice. That’s right, it’s a music rehearsal and I can’t sing. Oh well. It’s always something.

WRITING SCHTUFF

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt to distribute Amazon books Houghton Mifflin Harcourt’s brand new New Harvest imprint will now publish “all of Amazon Publishing’s New York-based imprint’s adult titles in print and distribute them in North America outside of the Amazon.com platform.”

How To Teach Someone to Write Well  Is it a gift or learned skill? What do you think?

Alexandra Sokoloff’s Class Schedule  If you want tips on writing, she’s the go-to-gal for fiction, thrillers, screenplays.

Tips for Pricing Your Work

Pinterest Tips for Writers Wow, yet another place to become “social.” Nope, haven’t tried it. Yet. Already doing too much, I think.

What are the most popular #Hastags for twitter? Check it out.

Facebook “Timeline” to Become Mandatory  I’ll admit, I know nothing about this. Will this be good, bad or indifferent for us? Hmnnn.

CAT SCTUFF

Mainstreaming A Feral Cat from the awesome blog by Deb Barnes (you MUST watch the video, some kewl info about cat care for low income folks, too).
Along those same lines here’s a great blog from a Cat Guy on TNR.

Cat Escapes into Plane “Innards”  don’t let this happen to YOUR cat! A delayed flight was the least of kitty’s problems

In response to my puppy article on how to brush puppy teeth, my colleague Ingrid King pointed out an awesome link from Cornell with a video on how to teach cats to accept teeth brushing. Check it out here!

DOG SCHTUFF

All about the joys of fostering pets, a lovely article!

In celebration of dogs in art, the American Kennel Club® (AKC®) and Bonhams Auction House are hosting their annual charity brunch, Barkfest at Bonhams, on Sunday, February 12, 2012 from 10 a.m. to noon, benefiting the AKC Humane Fund, Inc. 

Don’t miss the AKC Eukanuba National Championship.  This year’s show will air on ABC on Saturday, February 4that 2:00 pm EST (check local listings). Watch as the country’s premier dogs vie for $225,000 in prizes. Additional footage, including the full coverage of groups, the Eukanuba World Challenge and the Eukanuba Breeder’s Stakes, will be available at www.eukanuba.com. Bred-By-Exhibitor group videos are available on the AKC website.  Visit www.akc.org/aenc for more information about the AKC/Eukanuba National Championship.

Diabetes In Dogs a nice overview that I found because (wow!) they quoted my book Pet Care in the New Century!

HILARIOUS SCHTUFF!

A Funny Funeral? Seriously? YES!  We need to laugh during sad times most of all and my friend Jenny Hansen’s blog today is one you’ll want to save. Awesome! (had to come in and add it to the list, it’s THAT GOOD!).

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

8 responses »

  1. Amy, you are the cutest thing… “Kerflooey?!” LOVE it.

    Thanks for the mention – I really wasn’t sure how that post would go over. I sure did have fun writing it though…made me think of my mama. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Great stuff Amy!!! 🙂 Thanks for pulling together the best of the best!

    Reply
    • *s* Hey Jenny, I just make stuff up…and Natalie, I prowl the dusty corridors of the Internet with my trusty blood hound seeking out…Wait, that’s a different tail, er, tale. *s*

      Thanks, folks!

      Reply
  3. Hi Amy, you had a great mix of just about everything! How cool is that?

    I am trying to go outside my little circle and widen out to meet others and I wanted to drop in and say hi!

    I do know your techie pain. Everything goes Kaput all at once. Crazy and annoying! Glad your life is back in order.

    See ya soon! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Eleven days to wait for the repair man? You are a very patient woman, Amy. And I admire it. Sigh.

    Awesome links, as always. I’m off to check out your CAT SCHTUFF (haha, love it), since now I am a proud owner of a very cute kitten. Or is that the other way around? Hmmm.

    Reply
  5. Great stuff here Amy. I’m off to check out the mandatory Facebook link. Kerfooey! lol.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

