RSS Feed

Tuesday Tips: A Roundup for Valentine’s Day

Cats of Egypt--helping Egypt's animals . . .

Monday Mentions didn’t happen yesterday because I was head-down on final edits for my THRILLER. I sent it to the publisher last evening, whew! And then I hurried off to KURVES rehearsal and didn’t even get to watch the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show when I got home. Yep, these days I meet myself running, but it’s all good.

I’ve got news! I learned that my new Puppies Website won a MAJOR AWARD, the Maxwell Medallion, from the Dog Writers Association of America, woot! The awards were presented Sunday night in New York and since I’m in rehearsals, I couldn’t be there but some seriously talented dog-savvy folks were honored.

Today just for Valentine’s Day I’ve compiled a mash-up-day of all the neato-torpedo links and videos, pet schtuff and bling and writer-icity crappiocca collected over the past week. Some of this “schtuff” can be hard to categorize and may fit more than one topic so I urge you to at least scan them all.

PET SCHTUFF

Lorraine Chittock celebrates Cairo’s cats, with glorious photos–and donations to a wonderful Egyptian animal welfare organization. Check out the book Cairo Cats! pictured above.

International Association of Animal Behavior Consultants annual behavior conference, all about cats, dogs, therapy animals, horses and parrots! Early bird registration goes away in 6 days . . .

California Roll-Back on Pet Protection Laws? from terrific blogger BJ Bangs

14 Ways Your Cat Loves You from my good friend and cat behavior expert Sally Bahner

Inking for Dollars–tattoos benefiting shelters!

Dogs Deserve Better sent 19,000 Valentine cards to dog owners who chain their dogs all day long!

WRITING SCHTUFF

Books-A-Million and Indigo Books join B&N in the Amazon boycott  along with Amazon may open brick & mortar store in Seattle

Helpful post about How to “Gift” an Ebook for Reviews

OKC University Creative Writing Festival the art of laughter and thrills in creative writing

Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society Writing Contest

Why HATING FACEBOOK Costs You Book Sales, you really need to read this

Dreamin’ with Jennifer Lawler, how her editing/publishing dream came true and she wants YOUR book, too! from

Keeping Current Without Being Overwhelmed, from Lorie Huston’s blog for Socially Savvy Pet Bloggers

Dirty Fighting, techniques to spice up your fiction, from the awesome Jenny Hansen, plus heart-pounding visceral responses from guest blogger Margie Lawson

How NOT to Get Burned Out from Kristen Lamb, social media maven

Dirty Publishing–DON’T DO IT! Great post on independent author’s ethics from Jeremy Robinson

Updating Your Ebook--how to do it.

Writers Guide to E-Pub now features the awesome Jen Talty from WhoDaresWinsPublishing.com, SQUEEEE!

Score Your Book Title, some great tips for designing a winner (with a very cool “test”) from great blogger Linda Joyce

Overdone Plotlines–yikes! Is yours in there?

Gene Lempp’s Blog Treasures, even more good stuff!

Babe the Sheep Pig has nothin’ on Champis, the bunny–wowsers!

Don’t try this at home–unless you’ve got year’s of experience, trustworthy dogs, and lots of supervision but–wow, ain’t this a fun video?!

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways! NOTE a special Valentine’s Day issue will go out later this afternoon.

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

17 responses »

  1. Awesome list and wow, just wow with the Champis – that is such a cool vid 🙂

    Thanks for the linkage!

    Reply
  2. Does Champis know he’s a rabbit, or does he think he’s a sheep? Either way, he’s pretty darn funny. We have an Aussie who does that to the kids when they run around outside – he also bathes the cat (and she lets him). Weird dog.

    Ohmygosh, those links! I need to check out two-thirds of them. Yikes.

    Super huge congrats on the puppies website award!

    Reply
  3. Hi Amy.

    A big congratulations on your Maxwell award. You deserve it!!

    Thanks for including my link in that rather awesome group of references. I’ve got to check out the ones I haven’t seen yet 🙂

    BTW, I love the Cairo Cats photo at the beginning of the post. It’s so beautifully done. Absolutely awesome!

    Reply
  4. Happy Valentine’s to you too. Hearts!!!!
    J

    Reply
  5. Congratulations Amy!!!! I hope your voice is better and you are enjoying yourself this week.

    Reply
  6. Amy, you’ve got the best mash-ups! Thank you for compiling all these fabulous links here.

    Congratulations on the website award. That’s huge! I’m off to check it out.

    Hugs.

    Reply
  7. OMG sheep rabbit. LOL

    Kinda wondering what the heck the point of rolling back the pet protection laws actually is? Like what does anyone think it will benefit? Easy to see the reasons why NOT to do it, especially if it saved the city money on top of it all (knowing politicians are often motivated by getting those dollar figures to look perty on paper).

    As for the chained dogs thing… I have to agree with one of the commenters wondering if they made sure they verified things before sending the letters. Because my family always had outside dogs – some chained, now mostly penned though. BUT the dogs were never neglected, they were out for several hours a day playing with the family and running around. Dog I grew up with as a kid, the beagle who always protected our family so well, best dog in the world, she was on a chain when nobody was home up until my parents bought the house in the country and dad got the chance to make a proper pen with boards buried (she’d dig out otherwise, which was the entire reason for the chain, so she didn’t dig out and get in the road or a yard where somebody could shoot at her or something). But when somebody was around to keep an eye on her she was always out running. Always brought in when it was too cold. But I do wonder if my folks still had the chain out next to the house if somebody would try and claim there was abuse going on. Because while I do agree that no animal should be kept on a chain 24/7, a lot of the time people go overboard and assume if they see a dog on a chain AT ALL that it never gets let out, when it could be that the neighbor works a different shift or something of that nature. And since one of the commenters said they keep getting the letters when they have no chained dogs, does kinda make me wonder. *shrugs* I’ve just noticed a bit of a trend in taking some of these efforts a little over the top. Not in all cases but I’ve seen enough that I sort of watchdog which groups I endorse a bit more now.

    As for Facebook, I’m not a big fan myself, but it is rather useful now and then, and I’d love to get better at figuring out what sorts of things will direct folks to the page I’ve made for my craft store, to try and build a bit more of a client base and get more chances to interact with folks and find out what THEY want.

    Reply
  8. Congrats Amy! Are you feeling better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

