RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Writer-icity & Pet Talk

Posted on

Monday Mentions is the mash-up-day of all the neato-torpedo links and videos, pet schtuff and bling and writer-icity crappiocca collected over the past week. Some of this “schtuff” can be hard to categorize and may fit more than one topic so I urge you to at least scan them all.

Awesome Shirt Folding Tips! from Margaret Miller’s Blog, this is amazing, you gotta see!

Own Your Beauty–It’s Contagious from the awesome blogger Myndi Shafer

Facebook Timeline Tips from Lorie Huston

WRITER SCHTUFF

Kansas Writers Association “Scene 2012” Writer Workshop, and yes, I’m a speaker offering sessions on “kindle-ization” and “media training for authors.” Come say howdy…I’ll be wearing the sparkles (surprise!)

AgentFest, a part of Thrillerfest with some awesome opportunities for writers (yes, I’ll be there)

Branding For Sissies Hey if I can do this so can you. Just sayin’ . . .

Book Club for Authors/Readers a fee-based sign up for authors to get works-in-progress in front of readers for feedback.

RWA®’s Kiss of Death Chapter presents~~ The 2012 Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery Suspense

Heightening Suspense from Guest Blogger Jodie Renner

Gorgeous Mousepads! for spiffing up you office decor (yes, I want one of these…)

Writer Beware on Trusting Sources (or Not)

Turning Author Site Into A Store tips from Jen Talty

Tribr How-To from the awesome Jenny Hansen

PINTEREST SCHTUFF

Pinterest for Biz

How Pinterest Engages Better than Twitter Et Al,

How Random House Uses Pinterest

Pinterest Boo-Boos to Beware

Embrace Your Inner Doberman from Sonia Medeiros, good info for anyone including writers

PETS & ANIMAL SCHTUFF

VAFA Shelter Now on PetFinder yeee-haw! This is the FIRST animal shelter in Iran, and dogs fostered in the US now can find their forever-homes via PetFinder connection. Here’s a video you MUST SEE of two rescue GSD-mix pups on grass for the first time.

Pet Industry Estimates $53 Billion Spending

9 Dental Issues You Share With Pets, my latest at Huffington Post

Zero Odor Wins Product of the Year Award! If you haven’t tried this product, check it out

A Beloved Horse Lost–and Found! this is a 3-hanky story you’ll love!

Lost Woman’s Cat Never Leaves Her Side

Australia’s Love-Hate with the Dingo

Greyhound Races Thing of the Past?

Animal Sounds Around the World you say toMAtoe, and I say meow…

NPR Transcript Discusses Animal-Human Bond Benefits

So…what’s the cat saying? And does the toddler understand? Are both “learning” from the communication?

Totally tongue-in-cheek how animals talk (or beak in feathers…)

Westchester Cat Show Interview

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

11 responses »

  1. Thanks for the mention and link to my Facebook tips blog post, Amy. I loved seeing your interview from the Westchester Cat Show!

    Reply
    • Lorie, you always have the best info on the latest mind-blowing social networking writer-icity. The Westchester interview was fun! Lots of other CWA members were interviewed, too.

      Reply
  2. Wow, what a great mashup! Thanks for sharing this with us. Bookmarking for when I have more time!

    Reply
  3. Loved the video with the little girl and what must be one of the world’s most patient cats! How sweet is that? Great interview of yours too, Amy! Well done!

    Reply
  4. Amy thanks for the mention, and what a delightful discovery your are for me 🙂

    That little girl – it took me back so far – to my son’s childhood and even to my own. It’s such a treasure to have beautiful cats in our lives. We’ve also had aging animals and they do bring with them special needs – diabetes, cancer, arthritis, spinal injuries are the ones we’ve dealt with.

    Oh and the mashup is fantastic – I’ve bookmarked it too.

    Reply
  5. I love how the cat keeps looking at the adults in the first video like “Uhhhh what’s it doing now?? Somebody? What does it want from me??? …oh, okay hug. Waitwaitwait, NOW what??” LOL And I think the kid is learning. I never have been one to be overly for punishing the animal if they give a good warning whack (with the exception of one cat I’ve known who had been mistreated at a previous home who had a habit of making first strike and attacking for no reason, he had to be backed down and told “no”) – I seem to recall my parents telling me after at least a few cat scratches that it was the cat’s way of saying they don’t like that, and I need to learn to listen before they hit. Sometimes it is the best teacher. In my early years I learned most of my critter lessons from being bitten, scratched, pecked at, or kicked. LOL Like, they all still understood and trusted me but I was the most annoying dang kitten/puppy/foal/chick they had ever had the misfortune of having to deal with, and by the gods they were going to teach me how to behave like a proper cat/dog/horse/whatever. LOL It was like I was one of them, so that’s how they handled me.

    Reply
  6. I LOVE these videos!!! And I’ve been trying to get back here to say THANK YOU all day for including 2 of my posts in your mashup of magnificence. Now I’m off to check out those Pinterest posts….

    {hugs}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

