RSS Feed

Woof Wednesday: Big Hairy Deal & Stop Litter Box Snacking

Posted on

On Monday Mentions you saw my Hairball Celebrity Creature, and a number of folks had terrific guesses. Today you can find out just WHO that was supposed to be–featured on PeoplePets.com, a gallery of 9 of the hairy hopefuls are profiled.

To see the whole gallery plus the five finalists, and vote for your choice of winner, click on the logo, above.

In the spirit of Woof Wednesday, but with a nod to the cats, today’s Ask Amy has a cross-species problem to address. Does your dog (urk!) snack from the litter box? Learn why dogs eat dung in this article. How do you keep Poochie away from the poo?

I’m in the process of completely revising my ComPETability book to be even more prescriptive, and some of the tips from the book are presented in the video, below. What are some other ways you handle the problem? Do tell!

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? Do you have a new kitten and need answers? Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with excerpts from the forthcoming THRILLER, LOST & FOUND, and pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

16 responses »

  1. Joy Held's Writer Wellness Blog

    What do you think about feeding dogs pineapple to keep them from eating their “poo pastries”?

    Reply
  2. My dog used to “snack” from the litterbox, too. I found a childproof gate in Home Depot that slides to fit the width of the door. It was screened with a heavy plastic mesh. I cut out a square of the mesh that was big enough to let the kitties come and go, but kept my dog out. Unfortunately, this won’t work if you have a small dog.

    Reply
    • Hi Chris, When Magical-dawg arrived he was already bigger than my 6-pound cat. I found dog gates online that had little kitty doors built into the bottom that could latch open or closed. Very handy! But yes, it wouldn’t work for Toy size dogs.

      Reply
  3. Amy – I just read your blog entry about Seren’s latest trip to the vet. You said you changed food for her. My Chrissy ( 5.1 lb lynx-point siamese) is 19.5 years old and the vet just said she had the very beginnings of kidney problems and suggested I change food. I’ve done some research on line and the feelings are very mixed about what kind of food and how much protein should be in it. I sort of figured that her being 19.5 and also that it would take an act of congress to get her to change (she can’t afford to lose any more weight) that I would just continue on with the status quo. Right now she eats Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets. I’d say she eats about 1.75 cans in a 24 hour period. I would love to hear your take on this and what your suggestions might be. I also want to apologize about putting this question here but I wasn’t sure you’d see it on a much older blog entry.
    Thank you,
    Pamela (owned by Chrissy)
    Tucson, AZ

    Reply
    • Hi Pamela, Wow–you must be doing a lot RIGHT for Chrissy to be in such good health at her senior age. I’m fortunate that Seren will eat just about anything. Changing a diet truly is a challenge and risky business with the tiny ones like Chrissy.

      I’ve got Seren on Hill’s Prescription kd and she loves it. This past month I was invited to attend lectures by some of Hill’s scientist and tour their facility in Kansas, and was quite impressed. Frankly, my opinion prior to that visit was very different. Apparently over the past five years or so they have increased the effort to not only create therapeutic diets but also improve palatability so the pets will actually EAT the food (not always the case in the past).

      Other companies also offer very good therapeutic diets for cats with renal issues. It comes down to who you trust. Overall, aging cats still need protein UNTIL they get into severe kidney failure, because otherwise the body may break down its own muscles for energy (you’ll see muscle wasting in many old pets). The protein, though, must be highly digestible. Pet food labels can be manipulated to look any way that “looks good” but may not necessarily reflect what’s what–so again it comes down to trust.

      I don’t know how to advise you. At nearly 20 year’s old, though, I probably also would be reluctant to mess with success. *s* If you choose to transition to a new food, do so very VERY slowly, mixing only tiny amounts of the new food with the familiar diet and slowly increasing the new. Thanks for writing and scritches to Chrissy.

      Reply
      • Amy – Thanks so much for your insight. She’s such a very picky eater that I think I’ll just keep doing what I’m doing. At this point in her life, I just want to keep her happy–no traumas.
        Thanks again,
        Pamela
        (owned by Chrissy)

        Reply
  4. Oh, Blizzard loves to snack on those lovely Tootsie Rolls! Downstairs I block off the room with a baby gate, positioned high enough for the cats to get under but not the dog. Upstairs the litterpan is in a very large cage. The door of the cage though is big enough for the dog to get in so I block the entrance with empty litter buckets 🙂 so that only the cats can get through and the dog can’t reach over them.

    Outside is another matter all together! He doesn’t bother his own “stuff” but he sure does love that rabbit poop. He eats it AND rolls in it. Yuck.

    Reply
  5. It really is all about accessibility, Amy, I agree. My beagle, Cooper, would and has consumed just about anything so we worked out a deal: I stay “present” on all our walks, meaning I am learning to live in the moment, and his digestion is considerably better.

    Great post!

    Karen

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Feline Friday: Poop-alicious Remedies « Amy Shojai's Blog

Leave a Reply

