RSS Feed

Monday Mentions: Blogs, Pet Food & Summer Colds

Posted on
Looking for a new friend

Pets make us feel better just by being there…

I’m sick today, urk. No voice. Stuffy head. Feel exhausted. So that’s my excuse for the brevity. I’ve had folks suggest a number of remedies–eat marshmallows to coat the throat and my personal favorite, sip “Hot Damn” (cinnamon flavored schnapps). Need to snuggle with my Seren-kitty and have the Magical-Dawg deliver some chicken soup (but he’ll want to share…). Colds suck anytime, but summer colds are particularly aggravating. Hope y’all stay healthy and I promise, I’ve sanitized the links and suchlike so germ-icity won’t infect you today on the blog.

Do your cats and dogs know when you’re under the weather? How do they act? Do tell.

Monday Mentions is the mash-up-day of all the neato-torpedo links and videos, pet schtuff and bling and writer-icity crappiocca collected over the past week. Some of this “schtuff” can be hard to categorize and may fit more than one topic so I urge you to at least scan them all.

WRITER-ICITY SCHTUFF

New Writerly Production? book a year or more? Is acceleration of content a good thing?

Love Is Murder, check out Sandra Brown’s edited anthology of romantic suspense (pre-orders now available)

Blogging Tips for Writers–FOCUS FOCUS FOCUS!

More Blogging Tips–make it EASY to comment plus all about moderation

Author Facebook Pages, why have them?

New Anthology Opps from Margie Yee Webb the co-creator with Dahlynn McKowen for Not Your Mother’s Book . . . On Cats. And Ken McKowen and Kathy Baker are co-creators for Not Your Mother’s Book . . . On Dogs.

Meredith Bernstein Literary Agency has new website with value-added for writers. Meredith was my agent for many years and I can’t recommend her highly enough.

Hyperthymesia and Marilu Henner’s Brain from the awesome Writer’s Forensics Blog of Dr. Lyle

Authors On the Air, a new radio show might be worth a look, suggested by author CJ West

PET SCHTUFF

Cat Food Recalls and Dog Food Recalls expanding. Here’s further info from the FDA.

Small Vet Practices On Way Out? IBISWorld reports veterinarians appear to be gravitating toward working in larger multi-doctor practices. What will this mean for your furry wonder?

Pit Bull Saves Owner, Loses Leg awesome story about a hero dog pulling owner from train tracks

New Hyperthyroid Diet for Cats–miracle or disaster waiting to happen? A veterinarian weighs in.

Dogs Feel Your Pain, fascinating read from ScienceNOW thanks to great pet author Cheryl Smith

Bad Journalism How-To on Cat Declaw from Sally Bahner. Let’s be responsible, folks!

Is Innovative Vet Care Too Expensive? Great post by my colleague Jo Singer. I have to say, the only “hate mail” I ever got about a book took issue with my cutting-edge title and the expense involved. Hmnnn.

SAR Dog Organizations Receive $258,000 In Grants from the AKC Companion Animal Recovery Canine Support & Relief Fund, bow-WOW!

Hogzilla–Feral vs Domestic Pig Brains for those who are really into “this little piggy.” Hmnn, wonder what would happen if people brains took that turn (can you say “weird plot idea?”)

This how-to video is on my new must-do list, since Magical-Dawg loves getting dirty and we have white carpet.

I love hearing from you, so please share comments and questions. Do you have an ASK AMY question you’d like answered? Do you have a new kitten and need answers? Stay up to date on all the latest just subscribe the blog, “like” me on Facebook, listen to the weekly radio show, check out weekly FREE PUPPY CARE newsletter, and sign up for Pet Peeves newsletter with excerpts from the forthcoming THRILLER, LOST & FOUND, and pet book give-aways!

About amyshojai

Amy Shojai, CABC is a certified animal behavior consultant, award winning author, and spokesperson to the pet industry.

12 responses »

  1. Left-Brained Business for Write-Brained People

    Amy, I’m so sorry about your cold. You’re right–summer colds are the worst and seem to last for months! Kind of on the same subject, however, have you heard about Pet Armor making some cats sick? I have an older cat (16 years) who has never had a problem with Frontline, but since that’s almost impossible to get locally anymore I purchased Pet Armor. Within days my cat’s appetite decreased significantly, and she started over-grooming. Since she’s always been a bit OCD, I just thought she was having another personal rant about something, though she’s never quit eating before, just stepped up the grooming. After a week she’d dropped from 8 pounds to 6-1/2 pounds, and had a bald spot on her shoulder. I took her to the vet, who knows her history, and he said to keep feeding her wet food whenever she would eat any. Again, the weight loss was the thing that worried me, since the over-grooming has happened before, but usually stops after about a week. Her appetite finally returned to near-normal just over three weeks after I applied the Pet Armor, and when I checked the calendar to see when I needed to apply again, that made me finally make the connection and wonder whether that treatment was the cause of the whole problem. Now, a month later, I’m afraid to douse her with anything. She’s still just under seven pounds and through being coddled for a couple of week now only wants to each wet foot–no dry. I think we’re past “point fear” now, but I was wondering if you’d heard about any other felines reacting this way?

    Hope you feel better soon,
    Joanie

    Visit my business-writing blog at: http://leftbrainedwritebrained.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Hi Joanie, I’m not terribly familiar with this product but here’s details about Pet Armor:

      http://www.petarmor.com/works/pdf/PetArmor%20for%20Cats.pdf

      Fipronil is the active ingredient, same as in Frontline–and both are made by Merial. I would suggest you inform your vet about your suspicions. You can order Frontline over the Internet so that might be an option since she’s been able to tolerate that in the past. It could simply be coincidence–very hard to say if it’s an actual cause/effect.

      Reply
  2. Feel better soon Amy! No fun being sick.
    I think Tess totally knows when I am sick because she always huddles around me more. It’s cute.

    Reply
  3. Lorie Huston, DVM

    I hope you feel better soon, Amy. Summer colds really are the worst.

    My cats definitely know when I’m under the weather. They act differently when I’m sick, sticking closer to me and being more cuddly, which in turn usually makes me feel better mentally even if it doesn’t clear up an achy throat or congested nose. 🙂

    Thank you for the links. I appreciate that very much and I’m glad you liked the posts.

    Reply
    • Lorie, you always have great content and happy to share! I’m going to have some chicken soup in a bit and see if that helps.

      Natalie, our fur-kids really do care. Or maybe the fever just makes lap-sitting even more cuddly, LOL!

      Reply
  4. Best remedy I have found thanks to my grandfather. Brew some green tea (I tend to favor Sencha, if you have a nice Asian grocery nearby – for some reason it seems VERY good for illness). In it, put 1tbsp of apple cider vinegar, 2 tbsp lemon juice, and as much honey as you can stand. It’s good for sore throats, stomach flu, and generally helps me feel better when I’m sick.

    We’ve got ear infections, sinus infection, bronchitis, and strep in this house right now, and the fuzzies have been sticking to us like glue.

    That two books ayear thing is MADNESS. I only skimmed that (no attention span due to the sick) but… since when did we judge authors based on how MUCH they write, instead of how WELL they write??

    That pit bull is a great example of why people need to stop condemning that breed over what some humans have turned pitties into. ANY dog can be good and loyal and heroic, whether we consider them a “bad breed” or not.

    On the feral pigs article: pigs are scary. Even “domestic” pigs can get scary. My other half has stories of his own… somebody in his hometown that crashed his car, and by the way the car looked it was said the guy probably would’ve lived had he not crashed into a pig field. They found blood and ripped clothing, figure he passed out and then they got to him but most likely the guy was eaten alive. o.o They really will eat ANYTHING that sits still long enough. Of course, the other half himself had to empty a quiver of arrows into a wild hog when he was out canoeing, thing kept chasing him down the bank no matter how far he went trying to find a place to land where the pig wasn’t, so he wouldn’t get attacked. No idea what set it off, only that once it spotted him it wouldn’t let him be – had to wait until the thing died before he could get to shore. Mind you, I’m not normally freaked out by anything with fur or four legs, but pigs are one thing I REALLY want to stay away from unless they’re those tiny potbellied ones that (in theory) can’t do much harm. LOL Give me bacon, sure, but I’m not going to visit the farm it came from. When those things get mad there is NO stopping them.

    Reply
    • Oh, and as for wiping your paws – I had one of my “foster babies” doing that within a day. Except in my case, I just started with walking him in circles on the front mat while saying “wipe your feet”, then by day 2 when he came inside he started to do it on his own. LOL

      Reply
      • *s* Whatever works, works. Magical-Dawg wants to “go paddle” in the muddy tank, and THEN come inside. I think he does it so we’ll hose him off. He loves the hose. And yes, he has us trained.

        Reply
    • Thanks, I’ll keep this for the future. Thank goodness my sore throat finally is gone!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

